BI Android, dead.

Discussion in 'Android' started by Matt L., May 2, 2018.

Share This Page

  1. Matt L.

    Matt L. Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2017
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Hilliard, Ohio
    Last week BI mobile android just stopped working altogether.

    It connects because I hear the connection sound on the server, however the little PoS client says that "it cannot reach server". I uninstalled, re-installed, rebooted my phone. Furthermore, the Get IPS function does nothing now.
     
  2. Mr_D

    Mr_D Getting comfortable

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2017
    Messages:
    451
    Likes Received:
    320
    Location:
    Southern California
    Are you doing this on the same LAN? Try disabling the Windows firewall and see if it can connect.
     
    Matt L. likes this.
  3. Matt L.

    Matt L. Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2017
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Hilliard, Ohio
    Yeah... it's connecting on the LAN side, at least right now. When I re-entered the darn IP i forgot to set port # to 15080.
     
  4. fenderman

    fenderman Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    27,358
    Likes Received:
    7,328
    likely a missed setting or you entered the wrong credentials too many times and the webserver is blocking your phone ip....the app wont magically stop connecting.
     
  5. Endosmok

    Endosmok n3wb

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2014
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    3
    No. I believe this is an issue with the BI Android App and/or BI combo. Over the past year or so, I rarely use the app for the same reason... it doesn't connect properly. It will take 4 or 5 tries before it will login properly (meaning I have consecutively tap connect 4 or 5 times)... and that gets very annoying every time one tries to run the app. I know the firewall wan/lan settings are working just fine. I can open a chrome browser session on my phone and login with the ip:port with my credentials and logins just fine, every time. The only failure I get is on the android app, and this occurs on all my android devices.

    So there is something going on with the BI App and BI for particular setups. As I don't think it happens to many but if you read around you will seeing some like me with the same issues. If I drop back to an older version of BI like 4.4.7.0 or 4.4.7.4, the BI app logins without any issues on the first time.
     
  6. fenderman

    fenderman Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    27,358
    Likes Received:
    7,328
    Well it's going to be on you to figure out what's wrong with your setup or email support.... I have over 20 blueiris installations and don't have this problem... If you have a router that has a the DDOS attack protection function make sure it's disabled. 4.4.7 is 1.5 years old. This started happening to the OP recently. So you both dont have the same problem. Its working for everyone else, the error is on your end.
     
    Last edited: Jun 16, 2018
  7. Endosmok

    Endosmok n3wb

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2014
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    3
    Yes. It's a head scratcher for sure. I've tried everything I know... 3 different routers, turning off everything in the firewall, disabling any type of protection on the server and the router and still the same issue. My only fix for now is going back to version 4.4.7.x. I'll be setting up another new BI install at another location in a couple of months with new equipment/server/isp/router and see how it goes.

    I've also use the BI app on my work iPhone and it works just fine. Same account/pw. I can have the phones side by side and one works and the other doesn't. Strange to say the least.
     
  8. fenderman

    fenderman Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    27,358
    Likes Received:
    7,328
    What android version are you running on the problem phone.. what phone model?
     
  9. Endosmok

    Endosmok n3wb

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2014
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    3
    Currently using HTC U11 with Oreo installed. But same happens with my wifes Samsung s9. And it did the same on my prior phone which my son uses LeeCo S3, which had Nougut 7 installed.
    Only common thing is we are all using Cricket (AT&T)… my work is iPhone is on Verizon. Attaching the connections log. You can see the attemps to BI.. the request is getting through the network and to the server...
    Below shows 5 consecutive attempts with 6th one connecting.
     

    Attached Files:

  10. fenderman

    fenderman Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    27,358
    Likes Received:
    7,328
    What happens when you try connecting via a remote WiFi connection.
     
  11. Endosmok

    Endosmok n3wb

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2014
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    3
    Good question. I'll try that on the next opportunity I get on a remote wifi signal and report my findings.
     
    fenderman likes this.
  12. Matt L.

    Matt L. Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2017
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Hilliard, Ohio
    I'm good on this by the way, time sorted things out.
     
    fenderman likes this.
  13. Endosmok

    Endosmok n3wb

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2014
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    3
    Ok... sorry I took so long to get back on this topic.

    So yes. Blue Iris over remote WiFi works fine.

    As the above user stated, this has something to do with Cricket Wireless.... just about... the only thing I am still confused about is that I don't have issues when going back to that earlier version. It's been awhile since I tested that but as I recall it worked just fine when I downgraded a few months back.

    Now Cricket uses that same network as AT&T (also owned by AT&T), so I am not sure if other AT&T users are having similar issues but it seems like Cricket users are. I am on their Unlimited plan which limits data to 3Mbps. I would think this is still plenty of bandwidth for a remote login (I watch plenty of Dish Anywhere and Plex just fine). Plus the fact that I can use that same phone and login to the cameras using the Chrome app on my phone the first time, every time.

    Chrome via Cricket works flawlessly.
    BI App via Cricket fails (well works after 5 attempts or so on average).
     
  14. Matt L.

    Matt L. Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2017
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Hilliard, Ohio
    I am OP and found a solution to it not wanting to connect. I saw that even when I got a message it didn't connect, it made a connection sound and event on the server. I then discovered that BI Android has an apparent proclivity to stay connected in background processes. If you load it up again, however, it goes back to connect page. If it then attempts to log in, it fails. 100% fix is to kill all processes, a simple "close apps" works, and retry. BI Android has then not failed to log in.
     
    blindpanic likes this.