BI + PfSense/OpenSense on the same box?

R. Rod

n3wb
Joined
Mar 16, 2018
Messages
17
Reaction score
3
Hello,

I'm planning to use a Dell Optiplex 3020 with Windows 10 to run BI.
Instead of getting a router (USG or the like) I was wondering if anyone is using a similar setup to run Pfsense or OpnSense? I can add a dual intel NIC in addition to the oboard NIC.

Thoughts?

Thanks,
R. Rod
 

crw030

Known around here
Joined
Apr 26, 2016
Messages
791
Reaction score
447
Location
Colorado
As far as I know pfSense has to run it’s own hardened Linux OS, so the only way to combine them would be virtualization which I’d avoid if I were you. Also pfSense doesn’t require much of a CPU (I run mine on an I3-6100 and its drastic overkill if you aren’t planning to run Deep Packet Inspection or lots of packages.

I would recommend an ASUS consumer router, it’s simple to setup and supports OpenVPN. If you want to “step up” maybe go with a Ubiquity Edgerouter, or at the very extremes end you could grab an SG-1100 or do a fresh install on a separate Dell (but it will be soooo overkill).
 

R. Rod

n3wb
Joined
Mar 16, 2018
Messages
17
Reaction score
3
As far as I know pfSense has to run it’s own hardened Linux OS, so the only way to combine them would be virtualization which I’d avoid if I were you. Also pfSense doesn’t require much of a CPU (I run mine on an I3-6100 and its drastic overkill if you aren’t planning to run Deep Packet Inspection or lots of packages.
I was thinking:
  • Windows 10 as the host OS
  • BI on Windows
  • Hyper-v with a VM for OpnSense
  • I'm already creating a VM to host HomeAssistant on that same computer

I would recommend an ASUS consumer router, it’s simple to setup and supports OpenVPN. If you want to “step up” maybe go with a Ubiquity Edgerouter, or at the very extremes end you could grab an SG-1100 or do a fresh install on a separate Dell (but it will be soooo overkill).
  • I do have an Edgerouter Lite ready for this setup. I was mostly trying to use this as an opportunity to tinker with OpnSense.
Thanks for your message!
 

bp2008

Staff member
Joined
Mar 10, 2014
Messages
9,519
Reaction score
6,920
Location
USA
I don't know about you, but I value stability over all else for a router. And therefore I would never make my entire home's internet access depend on the Blue Iris computer being online and running properly.
 

R. Rod

n3wb
Joined
Mar 16, 2018
Messages
17
Reaction score
3
I don't know about you, but I value stability over all else for a router. And therefore I would never make my entire home's internet access depend on the Blue Iris computer being online and running properly.
Understood, it is a good point.
This was me trying to use a single pc for all my computing needs on this short-term rental property.
There are pros and cons - having VM images ready and a equivalent host should, in theory, make the switch painless - but I do get your point about the router being a key element of the setup.
I have a unifi setup at home, and most likely end up repeating the formula on this property.
 
Top