BI using up all 16GB of ram

HEVNBND

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Feb 15, 2017
Messages
138
Reaction score
12
I have an I5-8400 with 16GB of ram running on Windows 10 x64. Have 24 - 2MP Dahua cams. When BI turns on it takes about 5 min and my memory usage on BI is 80% of the 16GB. The system becomes nearly unresponsive.

I am using the recommended video card driver.
I have Limit decoding unless required enabled.
Hardware accelerated decode: Intel
Direct-to-disc is enabled
Video is set to record Continuous
Version 4.8.5.0 x64
All New clips record directly to my 8TB hard drive.
OS is a SSD
The memory usage grows rapidly even if i pause live view.
I have uninstalled and reinstalled both BI and Intel Drivers.
I have other systems with same setup that use around 45% memory.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.
 
Last edited:

SouthernYankee

IPCT Contributor
Joined
Feb 15, 2018
Messages
3,770
Reaction score
2,760
Location
Houston Tx
What is the curve of the memory growth. What is the bi memory at boot , after 2 minutes, 5 minutes, 10 minutes and so on till it gets to 16 gb.

What is the confirmation of the cameras, frame rate, iframe, vbr/ CBR, max bit rate.....

On bi what is the network receive for the cameras ?

Provide a screen shot of the windows task manager, processes sorted by memory...
 

HEVNBND

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Feb 15, 2017
Messages
138
Reaction score
12
I just restarted BI and started a timer. I will update when memory gets to 16gb. It gets to 6GB when BI starts.

Following settings are the same on each camera:
Frame Rate is 15
Iframe is 30
CBR
Bit Rate 2560

As for network I am not sure I follow your question. Cams are going into a Netgear GS752TPS gigabyte poe switch using two nics on MB of NVR using Teaming with Adaptive Load Balancing.
 

Whoaru99

Pulling my weight
Joined
Dec 22, 2018
Messages
422
Reaction score
159
Location
Here
Recommended video card driver? You're using onboard video?
 

Whoaru99

Pulling my weight
Joined
Dec 22, 2018
Messages
422
Reaction score
159
Location
Here
OK. That's where I was headed but you're already there.
 

HEVNBND

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Feb 15, 2017
Messages
138
Reaction score
12
Receive buffer is 101MB
GPU is around 25%
CPU is around 45%
 

looney2ns

IPCT Contributor
Joined
Sep 25, 2016
Messages
9,748
Reaction score
9,061
Location
Evansville, In. USA
Have you excluded all BI folders from any antivirus program as per the BI help file?
Have you done a clean install of Win10 using the Media Creator tool?
 
Last edited:

SouthernYankee

IPCT Contributor
Joined
Feb 15, 2018
Messages
3,770
Reaction score
2,760
Location
Houston Tx
24 cameras with a buffer size of 101 MB is 2.4 GB, that is a lot of buffer space.

Are you running BI as a service ? If not run it as a service and reboot.

if the bit rate per second is only 2560 per camera you do not need two nic cards running Teaming with Adaptive Load Balancing. It is not needed, it turn it off. and use one Network cable from BI to the POE switch.
Set the receive buffer to about 10 MB.

Need screen shot of task manager processes
 

HEVNBND

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Feb 15, 2017
Messages
138
Reaction score
12
Thanks for the replies. I got it working. The issue appears to be that when I imported my reg file with my settings all 24 cams changed to NONE on Hardware accelerated decode from Default. It appears that importing the reg file again straightened it out.

The 101 was from task manager not receive buffer. It was at default 10. What is receive buffer for?
 
Top