BI4 Set Up With Synology Drive

Discussion in 'Troubleshooting' started by bigkap, May 20, 2019.

Share This Page

  1. bigkap

    bigkap n3wb

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2017
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    2
    Hi,

    Sorry if I have missed any previous answers after searching the forums.

    Have finally got the Iphone app up and running and now want to finalise the complete setup of BI4.
    All good except!

    Whatever I do within BI4 FTP Server tab, so that I can set it up that any new recorded files are sent to the Synology, I get :

    Connected
    Uploading to /volume1/Home Security/Cameras/ftptest.txt
    FTP: 550 No such file or directory.

    What have I done wrong?

    This did work sometime ago!

    Thanks

    Steve
     
  2. JNDATHP

    JNDATHP Pulling my weight

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2018
    Messages:
    262
    Likes Received:
    180
    Location:
    USA
    From support:

    Can you please verify you are running the service with your own windows account and not Local Service?
    Make sure that your windows account has a user/password that exactly matches the NAS login as well.
     
    SouthernYankee likes this.
  3. bigkap

    bigkap n3wb

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2017
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    2
    Hi,

    Thanks for that.
    The BI4 has its own password etc. to log onto Synology.
    And password matches
    I am running the full BI4.
    I am trying to do this through BI Options FTP or, should I run it through the individual camera properties?

    Thanks

    Steve
     
  4. fenderman

    fenderman Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    31,033
    Likes Received:
    9,981
    why are you using ftp?
     
  5. JNDATHP

    JNDATHP Pulling my weight

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2018
    Messages:
    262
    Likes Received:
    180
    Location:
    USA
    Please re-read my post. The computer user credentials must match your Synology login credentials.
     
  6. bigkap

    bigkap n3wb

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2017
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    2
    Hi,

    I finally have things working in parts.
    I have reloaded FTP set up etc in "Options" and pressed test and it worked.
    And to further test, in one of the camera properties I have marked "Post Files from Startup and Shutdown" and that sends the images to the Synology.
    Great.

    If I record a clip and right click the image and click "FTP Backup", it sends the file to Synology.
    Great.

    However, any new clips don't get posted automatically to Synology.
    Shame thought I had cracked it!!

    Steve
     
  7. bigkap

    bigkap n3wb

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2017
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    2
    More.

    I have gone into Options Clips and Archiving.
    "New" is saved locally on computer with Move to Folder "Stored"
    "Stored" is also saved locally as above.
    "Alerts" is directed to the Synology folder under move to folder "Aux1" which is also directed to the Nas drive.
    But BI says "Folders must be discrete and not subfolders of one another"

    What can I do?

    Thanks

    Steve
     
  8. fenderman

    fenderman Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    31,033
    Likes Received:
    9,981
    stop using ftp. that has got to be the silliest way to store to nas.
    Dont put them in subfolders.
     
  9. bigkap

    bigkap n3wb

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2017
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    2
    Hi,Thanks for that.
    The only reason is that I want to keep the files elsewhere(attic) for safety reasons if something happens.
    I dont want to pay for Cloud if I have a Synology Nas drive.

    What do you recommend?

    Thanks

    Steve
     
  10. bigkap

    bigkap n3wb

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2017
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    2
    BTW, your called Fenderman.
    My other email is Teleman!!
     
    fenderman likes this.
  11. fenderman

    fenderman Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    31,033
    Likes Received:
    9,981
    Dont use ftp.
    Setup a duplicate cloned camera. Record one camera to local drive. Second camera to nas. Hide second camera so it doesnt appear on the screen.
     
  12. bigkap

    bigkap n3wb

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2017
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    2
    OK thanks for that and and yet again, thank you for all your help.

    Steve