BI5 Android Push Notification Issue

Discussion in 'Troubleshooting' started by merkaba, Jul 12, 2019.

Share This Page

1. merkaba

merkaba Young grasshopper

Hey, I am brand new to BI5 and so far so good...except these push notifications. I can't seem to get any consistency from them. When i do get them, they are extremely delayed, and I've never gotten the thumbnails working. Hopefully I'm missing something simple. I've tried the stuff below. Let me know if anyone has any ideas.

• I have opened ports 2195, 443, and the port i use for the webserver
    • Made a firewall rule for all LAN traffic using webserver port to go to BI based on this post
    • Tried unchecking and checking both "Send Rich 3D notifications" and "10 image GIF
    • Matched up both my LAN and WAN webserver ports to use the same port
    This is what my notifications do look like when i happen to get them:
    [​IMG]

Last edited: Jul 12, 2019
  2. merkaba

Does anyone have android push notifications working with thumbnails?

3. 753951

753951 n3wb

I have same issue with thumbnails. Did you send email to Blue Iris support?

4. merkaba

I sent them one this morning. Waiting for their reply.

5. merkaba

Still no reply...is their customer service usually decent?

6. fenderman

fenderman Staff Member

A reply to take 5 to 7 days... Blue iris is a one-man shop with some part-time help.

7. merkaba

Ah, ok. Thanks for the info.

8. 753951

753951 n3wb

It looks like push notification links back to the event thumbnail via URL that looks like this:

http://<BI-server-IP-address>/thumbs/@<thumb-id>?session=<session-id>

<BI-server-IP-address> is always resolved IP address of your externally visible BI server (like 101.202.101.202). If BI server is behind firewall, that will be your externally visible IP address of your firewall (firewall then needs to know how to internally forward request to your BI server - via NAT or otherwise)
    <thumb-id> is some long decimal number, determined by BI