Blue Iris 4 to 5 Migration Guide

bp2008

Staff member
Joined
Mar 10, 2014
Messages
10,846
Reaction score
9,298
Location
USA
You can get the $30 annual support plan and then cancel it to save $5, but as I understand it the shop does not have an intuitive cancellation process so that could be frustrating.

Make a registry backup before you start the upgrade, whether you plan to set up from scratch or not. Better safe than sorry.

Enough people have come to complain about their CPU usage going way up after upgrading to BI5, and we really don't know what to tell them because a ton of stuff changes all at once when you do the upgrade. it is much easier to know what the problem is if you are changing one thing at a time in a fresh setup.
 

DaveK

Young grasshopper
Joined
Jan 16, 2015
Messages
92
Reaction score
4
Location
Oregon
In other words, the extra $5 is insurance against future aggravation. I think I can deal with that.

The current system is an Intel i7 with 8 gb of Ram. I'm only dealing with 8 cams, possibly up to 10 in the future, so I THINK I don't need a serious system upgrade.

Am I on the right track here?
 

bp2008

Staff member
Joined
Mar 10, 2014
Messages
10,846
Reaction score
9,298
Location
USA
BI5 can be a LOT more efficient than BI4 if you use sub streams, so yeah, there is very little reason to upgrade the PC it sounds like.
 
Joined
Nov 23, 2020
Messages
2
Reaction score
1
Location
UK
I bought the annual service plan to get version 5 eligibility, which was confirmed when I applied the key to my V4 installation. My problem is now that I have installed Version 5 following the guides, and it's asking me for my V4 key. I have entered this and now it is asking me if I want to apply an upgrade key for version 5. When I try to apply the upgrade key it states that the key is already linked to a license and reverts to demo mode. Can anyone help me understand what is going on here?
 

looney2ns

IPCT Contributor
Joined
Sep 25, 2016
Messages
10,745
Reaction score
11,024
Location
Evansville, In. USA
I bought the annual service plan to get version 5 eligibility, which was confirmed when I applied the key to my V4 installation. My problem is now that I have installed Version 5 following the guides, and it's asking me for my V4 key. I have entered this and now it is asking me if I want to apply an upgrade key for version 5. When I try to apply the upgrade key it states that the key is already linked to a license and reverts to demo mode. Can anyone help me understand what is going on here?
It's asking for your original v4 key you received, not an upgrade key or support key.
 
Joined
Nov 23, 2020
Messages
2
Reaction score
1
Location
UK
It's asking for your original v4 key you received, not an upgrade key or support key.
Sorry, I meant I was applying the v4 key, but it was not recognised. I did a bit of hunting around and I found another v4 key I had and it worked That must have been the one that I had entered before the support key. All sorted now. Thanks.
 

DaveK

Young grasshopper
Joined
Jan 16, 2015
Messages
92
Reaction score
4
Location
Oregon
I'm finally ready to upgrade to BI5, but plan on installing it on a new setup (Yes, I'll deactivate the old one). I have only a few cameras, and will be swapping a number of those for new cameras. I prefer to do a "clean" install from scratch.

What can you recommend for this? I plan on purchasing the $35 1-year support plan, but all the instructions I've seen are for upgrading on an existing system running BI4. Will I need to deactivate BI4 on the old setup, reinstall and activate it on the new setup, then install BI5 on the new system, and finally uninstall BI4 from the new system? Or can I purchase the support plan then simply deactivate BI4 on the old system and then Install BI5 on the new system using the BI4 key?
 

cagenuts

n3wb
Joined
Oct 30, 2017
Messages
15
Reaction score
3
Location
Johannesburg South Africa
I was about to buy new hardware until I discovered the sub streams in BI5. My 10 year old Xeon (no Quick Sync) was sitting at around 86% CPU with only 8 cameras. If I added any more it would spike to 100%. Since I've configured sub streams I now have 14 cameras and the CPU usage is sitting at 26%.

Repeat, no Intel Quick Sync.
 

Old Timer

Getting comfortable
Joined
Jul 20, 2018
Messages
686
Reaction score
1,166
Location
I'm ok
I'm finally ready to upgrade to BI5, but plan on installing it on a new setup (Yes, I'll deactivate the old one). I have only a few cameras, and will be swapping a number of those for new cameras. I prefer to do a "clean" install from scratch.

What can you recommend for this? I plan on purchasing the $35 1-year support plan, but all the instructions I've seen are for upgrading on an existing system running BI4. Will I need to deactivate BI4 on the old setup, reinstall and activate it on the new setup, then install BI5 on the new system, and finally uninstall BI4 from the new system? Or can I purchase the support plan then simply deactivate BI4 on the old system and then Install BI5 on the new system using the BI4 key?
I am pretty sure you can load up your new PC and put BI 5 on it, then in settings put your original BI 4 key, that will allow BI4 or BI5 to run.

I just bought a new BI 5 for $57 on here and built my new PC while my old one was still running. Then I could play and get everything set right
on BI 5 before I had to rely on it.
 
Top