Blue Iris 4 to 5 Migration Guide

Rockford622

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Feb 19, 2016
Messages
171
Reaction score
28
Just updated my BI from 4 to 5 and here are a few of my observations:

Followed the instructions on the first page exactly.

1) Exported everything (general settings and each camera).
2) BI5 install went fine. Did this and rebooted.
3) Uninstalled BI4. Specifically said NO to uninstalling registry stuff.
4) Opened up console on BI5. For some reason, it needed the original key. Found this and pasted it in. Needs the original key, not an upgrade/maintenance key.
5) BI5 was now in default settings mode. Strange since I said NO to deleting registry stuff. Imported my general settings export .reg file and everything came back to life. Cameras were now all there.
6) Had to remap location of \www\ directory since my general settings export .reg file was from v4. Did this and the now the webserver worked, no problem.

Just an FYI, this may be mentioned in this thread somewhere, but it is worth stating again. If you run BI as a service and you have BI move your files to a NAS, then you might have modified the Blue Iris Service to logon as a user other than the "local system" user. You will need to add those credentials again for the BI5 version of then Blue Iris Service since it is new. Otherwise, you will probably wonder why your local drive is filling up with clips and not being moved to your NAS.

BI5 seems to be easier on the CPU so far, which is a plus!
 

bohemian

n3wb
Joined
Apr 9, 2017
Messages
10
Reaction score
2
Took the plunge (again) and this time things went very smoothly. Only real issues were re-adding my support key and changing the service creds (again) so that BI ran as a named user. Other than that, a much better experience this time round.

But I won't be an early adopter for BI6, that's for sure!
 

JayS_IPCams

Young grasshopper
Joined
Oct 30, 2018
Messages
72
Reaction score
16
Location
Washington
Just updated my BI from 4 to 5 and here are a few of my observations:

Followed the instructions on the first page exactly.

1) Exported everything (general settings and each camera).
2) BI5 install went fine. Did this and rebooted.
3) Uninstalled BI4. Specifically said NO to uninstalling registry stuff.
4) Opened up console on BI5. For some reason, it needed the original key. Found this and pasted it in. Needs the original key, not an upgrade/maintenance key.
5) BI5 was now in default settings mode. Strange since I said NO to deleting registry stuff. Imported my general settings export .reg file and everything came back to life. Cameras were now all there.
6) Had to remap location of \www\ directory since my general settings export .reg file was from v4. Did this and the now the webserver worked, no problem.
Strange that the installer hasn't fixed these issues yet :(

Is it worth the upgrade?
 

pburgh

Young grasshopper
Joined
Aug 1, 2016
Messages
81
Reaction score
3
It can’t be fixed the issue Occurs when you uninstall Blue Iris 4. It’s well worth the upgrade which takes less than five minutes if you follow directions.
I've just been leaving the BI4 install in place, removing any shortcuts, and renaming the exes so they don't get launched. Upgrading to v5 has been super quick and easy.
 

fenderman

Staff member
Joined
Mar 9, 2014
Messages
33,764
Reaction score
13,348
I've just been leaving the BI4 install in place, removing any shortcuts, and renaming the exes so they don't get launched. Upgrading to v5 has been super quick and easy.
There’s really no reason to leave it in place simply import your settings after you uninstall Blue Iris takes five seconds then enter your license key done
 

Rockford622

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Feb 19, 2016
Messages
171
Reaction score
28
Strange that the installer hasn't fixed these issues yet :(

Is it worth the upgrade?
Yes, i believe so. Just make sure you export everything and have your original key on hand before you do anything.

I didn't like not getting frequent updates by staying on BI4. After years of using BI, I know how often updates are put out and generally there are great features added. To me, that was worth it alone.

One of the things I noticed was my camera settings were a bit goofy. I have 2 schedules, day and night, and use the High Definition setting (under Trigger->Configure) for each camera. For some reason, all of my cameras had High Definition selected for the Day schedule, but most did not have that option selected for the Night schedule. That caused my masked areas to be off a little. It was not a huge deal, because it gave me the chance to go into each camera a tweak some stuff, and look for new features, etc.

Just letting you know if you choose to upgrade, you will probably want to go into the settings of each camera and verify that it all looks good.
 

ipcamal

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Nov 27, 2015
Messages
136
Reaction score
10
Nevermind. Figured it out
 
Last edited:

fenderman

Staff member
Joined
Mar 9, 2014
Messages
33,764
Reaction score
13,348
Just did the upgrade. One issue. My clips/alerts are lost. only showing 3. Any ideas how i can get them back?

I did:
export settings
Upgrade to bi5
launched it
closed it and uninstalled BI4
imported backup
Started BI5

View attachment 58239
Check the storage folders. If files are there regenerate the database .One thing that happens when you uninstall 4 is they clips and archiving revert back to default which is 10 gb. IF you dont import your settings right away, your files may be deleted.
 

ipcamal

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Nov 27, 2015
Messages
136
Reaction score
10
Check the storage folders. If files are there regenerate the database .One thing that happens when you uninstall 4 is they clips and archiving revert back to default which is 10 gb. IF you dont import your settings right away, your files may be deleted.
Yep figured it out. imported settings right away and all clips were present in the storage folder. just deleted db folder and its regenerating now. Thank you
 

aaronwt

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Dec 31, 2014
Messages
142
Reaction score
22
Location
DC area(Northern VA)
I never got around to upgrading my systems to BI5. So I'm wondering what the upgrade price is now? I guess i will need to test it with my backup BI machine first. And then get a second license to upgrade my primary BI machine.

EDIT: I'm guessing the prices are still valid on the first post.
 

fenderman

Staff member
Joined
Mar 9, 2014
Messages
33,764
Reaction score
13,348
I never got around to upgrading my systems to BI5. So I'm wondering what the upgrade price is now? I guess i will need to test it with my backup BI machine first. And then get a second license to upgrade my primary BI machine.

EDIT: I'm guessing the prices are still valid on the first post.
There are 3 options, two of which are auto renewals. See blueirissoftware.com
 

Attachments

xytechlegit00

Young grasshopper
Joined
Nov 30, 2018
Messages
35
Reaction score
7
Location
USA
Just updated my BI from 4 to 5 and here are a few of my observations:

Followed the instructions on the first page exactly.

1) Exported everything (general settings and each camera).
2) BI5 install went fine. Did this and rebooted.
3) Uninstalled BI4. Specifically said NO to uninstalling registry stuff.
4) Opened up console on BI5. For some reason, it needed the original key. Found this and pasted it in. Needs the original key, not an upgrade/maintenance key.
5) BI5 was now in default settings mode. Strange since I said NO to deleting registry stuff. Imported my general settings export .reg file and everything came back to life. Cameras were now all there.
6) Had to remap location of \www\ directory since my general settings export .reg file was from v4. Did this and the now the webserver worked, no problem.

Just an FYI, this may be mentioned in this thread somewhere, but it is worth stating again. If you run BI as a service and you have BI move your files to a NAS, then you might have modified the Blue Iris Service to logon as a user other than the "local system" user. You will need to add those credentials again for the BI5 version of then Blue Iris Service since it is new. Otherwise, you will probably wonder why your local drive is filling up with clips and not being moved to your NAS.

BI5 seems to be easier on the CPU so far, which is a plus!
Just upgraded from 4 to 5 and this was exactly my experience.
 

hmjgriffon

Known around here
Joined
Mar 30, 2014
Messages
3,402
Reaction score
984
Location
North Florida
I installed bi5, no issues, uninstalled bi4, says no to nuking settings, opened bi5, wanted a license. I imported my settings backup that I exported from bi4 before the bi5 install and it's still in demo mode, any ideas? I don't think I can find my old bi4 license.
 

fenderman

Staff member
Joined
Mar 9, 2014
Messages
33,764
Reaction score
13,348
I installed bi5, no issues, uninstalled bi4, says no to nuking settings, opened bi5, wanted a license. I imported my settings backup that I exported from bi4 before the bi5 install and it's still in demo mode, any ideas? I don't think I can find my old bi4 license.
Yes this is a known issue and a problem with the bi4 uninstaller, that is why in my post to you here I specifically told you to have a copy of your bi4 license. Check your old emails. The blue iris license is emailed to you when you buy from perspective software.
Yes. Its 29.95 if you sign up for annual renewal for support and 35 if you do a one time fee. It is cheaper than buying a new license here.
Home - Blue Iris Software scroll down a bit. Follow the migration guide thread, backup your settings and keep a copy of your bi4 license key as you will need it when you uninstall bi4 after installing 5, the license key info will be lost and you will have to reenter it.
 

hmjgriffon

Known around here
Joined
Mar 30, 2014
Messages
3,402
Reaction score
984
Location
North Florida
Nevermind, I had the forsight long ago to store my old v4 license key in onedrive lol i'm good now, time to add my v5 key, BOOOOOOOOM.
 
Top