Blue Iris and Synology

Discussion in 'Blue Iris' started by eggzlot, Aug 2, 2018.

Share This Page

  1. eggzlot

    eggzlot Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2015
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    7
    What's the latest on what is possible?
    I am currently running BI on a Win 10 PC and I have 3 exterior cameras recording 24x7 and 2 cameras that only record when the alarm goes off because they are inside cameras and the thought is we only want them to record if the alarm is going off and there is a break in. I am keeping the 2 interior cameras but bumping up to 8 exterior cameras and those will also record 24x7. Looking to hold the video for about 3 weeks - just to cover vacations since usually we do a 2+ week vacation once a year.

    My Win PC currently has a 6 TB drive and a 1 TB Drive. it came with the 1 TB, i installed the 6 TB. I have BI using 5 TB of the 6 TB drive (read I was not supposed to max out the drive) and it keeps my footage a bit over 3 weeks, maybe closer to 4 weeks I forget. I also have a fairly new Synology RS818 with 4 drives of each 4 TB set up in RAID. I am basically using 2.5 TB out of 7 total TB.

    What is my most cost effective option? Get the 12 TB WD Purple drive and pop it into the PC (can any Win 10 PC take a 12tb hd?)? Update the Synology a little bit to get some extra space and use that? could I record 4 cameras to the PC and 4 cameras to the synology and not even have to update my storage needs? The PC and Synology are all hardwired via Cat 5e and a cisco gigabit switch.
     
  2. SouthernYankee

    SouthernYankee IPCT Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2018
    Messages:
    1,672
    Likes Received:
    914
    Location:
    Houston Tx
    Just curious What is the Frame rate and Iframe values for the cameras. What type of compression are you using.

    I have 9 cameras set to direct to disk that use H264 and H265. The frame /iframe rate are between 8 and 15 frames/second. A purple 4TB drive set to record to 3.7tb has over 6 weeks of recorded data. The frames vary very little, not much motion normally.
     
  3. eggzlot

    eggzlot Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2015
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    7
    so I am not living at home and I only have 1 camera on during this renovation process. So I logged in via the WebUI and I can see 3 cameras are 1920x1080 a 1.5 FPS? But I recall lowering them in the BI desktop client, so I wonder if that is what they are showing live vs what they are actually recording. Can you find out what they are set to record at in the WebUI especially with the camera off since I do not have power to 4 of the 5 cameras.
     
  4. SouthernYankee

    SouthernYankee IPCT Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2018
    Messages:
    1,672
    Likes Received:
    914
    Location:
    Houston Tx
    If you are using BI and have a VPN setup and are using a windows server or a Windows 10 pro , you should be able to login to you BI box by using Remote Desktop connection.

    There are other software that supports remote login.

    With so few cameras and such a low frame rate, you should be able to record months of data on a 6TB drive
     
  5. eggzlot

    eggzlot Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2015
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    7
    yeah I have a VPN and I use remote desktop - just on an iPad its a lil clunky that's all. I'll try navigate around this weekend and look more. Maybe it lasted more than 3-4 weeks but I recall that is what I was storing in those 5 TB.

    I'll have to dig back in and report back.
     
  6. Zanthexter

    Zanthexter Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2016
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    27
    Splashtop handles live video quite well. It was originally designed to let you use your iPad to remotely play games running on a PC.

    The Personal version is $18/year - Remote Desktop App for Mobile Devices - Splashtop Personal

    Also, why are you recording 24/7? You'll significant by recording only when motion triggers the cameras even with the detection threshold set low. You can save even more space if you only detect motion in certain areas, the idea being to ignore leaves moving and such.

    FWIW I haven't had any issues recording to Synology. I'd suggest RAID'ng enough space to cover the first week or two, and then the remainder of your (video) storage as non-raid. The idea being that you can trade redundancy for older, unlikely to be needed, video and the storage it uses for no redundancy but more storage to keep videos longer, just in case.
     
    Last edited: Aug 4, 2018
  7. eggzlot

    eggzlot Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2015
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    7
    Thanks I'll look into splashtop vs using Microsoft Remote Desktop
    I record 24/7 because I tried to use motion recording and it failed me 2x. Luckily it was not super critical but still annoying. In 5 years I've wanted to review video 4x and 2 times I missed the action. I switched to 24/7 for exterior and I was able to find the footage the other 2x. 100% could be user error, but I got input from here and other places, and the cameras just did not record properly. With the cost of storage going down, I'd rather just record 24/7.
     
  8. Zanthexter

    Zanthexter Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2016
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    27
    Pretty reasonable. :)