Blue Iris UI3

rebelbah

Young grasshopper
Joined
Mar 11, 2015
Messages
85
Reaction score
3
Do you mean to disable UI3 from requiring a login after 10 minutes of inactivity?
If so, go to the 3 dots in the upper right, click on UI Settings, then change the value for the 4th setting from the top 'The UI will close itself after this many minutes of inactivity. (0 to disable)' to 0 (zero).
View attachment 79645
Is there a way to disable it in the main software so without having to go through the browser UI settings
 

ChrisX

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Nov 18, 2016
Messages
103
Reaction score
3
I love new "auto maximize " :) How can i setup maximize zime ? I olny see 2-3 . Can you add a time option ?
 

bp2008

Staff member
Joined
Mar 10, 2014
Messages
10,844
Reaction score
9,281
Location
USA
I love new "auto maximize " :) How can i setup maximize zime ? I olny see 2-3 . Can you add a time option ?
No, I can't add a time option; that would make it far too complex keeping track of which motion events or triggers the UI had already responded to.
The only option related to this is to choose whether cameras get maximized upon BI motion detect or upon camera trigger. The default (Trigger) should be more stable in terms of keeping cameras maximized longer.
 

Pentagano

Young grasshopper
Joined
Dec 11, 2020
Messages
61
Reaction score
8
Location
Uruguay
My end result is UI3 being displayed with outside cameras only on my 42" smart TV. 10" tablet would not work. I have to think when it's 3am and intruder alert goes off. No time to reach for my glasses :)
I have a spare 32inch tv non-smart unfortunately.

What would be the cheapest way of getting an internet feed and browser onto it?
A cheap usb tv dongle thing?

I tested it with a blueray player with the browser app and works fine with the hdmi from that.

Thanks
 

Holbs

Known around here
Joined
May 1, 2019
Messages
1,085
Reaction score
1,393
Location
Reno, NV
I have a spare 32inch tv non-smart unfortunately.

What would be the cheapest way of getting an internet feed and browser onto it?
A cheap usb tv dongle thing?

I tested it with a blueray player with the browser app and works fine with the hdmi from that.

Thanks
yep. A $39 Wifi Amazon Fire Stick works
 

bp2008

Staff member
Joined
Mar 10, 2014
Messages
10,844
Reaction score
9,281
Location
USA
What would be the cheapest way of getting an internet feed and browser onto it?
A cheap usb tv dongle thing?
Yes. Probably an Amazon Fire TV stick or something. I can't vouch for the quality of the experience but I do recall others having tried it and found it acceptable.
 

Old Timer

Getting comfortable
Joined
Jul 20, 2018
Messages
678
Reaction score
1,138
Location
I'm ok
The fire sticks work well.
If you run into problems with it timing out when you turn off the TV, do a search on this site for instructions to fix that.
 

rebelbah

Young grasshopper
Joined
Mar 11, 2015
Messages
85
Reaction score
3
I have a spare 32inch tv non-smart unfortunately.

What would be the cheapest way of getting an internet feed and browser onto it?
A cheap usb tv dongle thing?

I tested it with a blueray player with the browser app and works fine with the hdmi from that.

Thanks
a Raspberry Pi is an option
 

aesterling

Pulling my weight
Joined
Oct 9, 2017
Messages
217
Reaction score
147
No, I can't add a time option; that would make it far too complex keeping track of which motion events or triggers the UI had already responded to.
The only option related to this is to choose whether cameras get maximized upon BI motion detect or upon camera trigger. The default (Trigger) should be more stable in terms of keeping cameras maximized longer.
@bp2008 Love the new auto-maximize feature, thank you for building it!

What determines how long a cam is maximized? Does it remain maximized while the cam is in a triggered state (break time), or is it a separate timer?

How does UI3 handle the "auto-maximize" when multiple cameras are triggered in a row? It seems like a new trigger will not override a previous "auto-maximize" until UI3 has returned to grid view?

Totally understand your hesitation to add this feature in the first place, as well as the need to keep it simple. Only asking to better understand the behavior.

Thanks!
 
Last edited:

bp2008

Staff member
Joined
Mar 10, 2014
Messages
10,844
Reaction score
9,281
Location
USA
@bp2008 Love the new auto-maximize feature, thank you for building it!
Thanks, and you're welcome!

What determines how long a cam is maximized? Does it remain maximized while the cam is in a triggered state (break time), or is it a separate timer?
It remains maximized for as long as the maximize condition is active. In UI Settings > Video Player you can configure whether you want the maximize condition to be "Motion" or "Trigger".

1611960931575.png

"Motion" means the cam will only be maximized while Blue Iris is actively detecting motion, so it resets fairly quickly.

"Trigger" means the cam will stay maximized until your break time expires. "Trigger" mode is also required if you don't use Blue Iris's built-in motion detection.

How does UI3 handle the "auto-maximize" when multiple cameras are triggered in a row? It seems like a new trigger will not override a previous "auto-maximize" until UI3 has returned to grid view?
The way it works is UI3 asks Blue Iris for the camera status every 1 second while this feature is enabled. When each data update is received, UI3 goes through the visible cameras left to right, top to bottom, checking if the maximize condition has been met on any of them. When it finds one, it maximizes that camera and waits for the condition to go away before looking at other cameras.

It would be nice if it could be smarter, but without any control over the serverside, I can't do much.

Just spitballing here, but when in "Motion" mode, maybe I could have UI3 do a "soft-release" of the camera when motion stops being sensed by the maximized camera, where it will switch to another camera that is sensing motion if there is one, otherwise the maximized camera could stay open a few seconds longer. This way UI3 could still respond fairly quickly to objects moving between cameras, but not be quite as quick to un-maximize during periods of intermittent motion sensing.
 
Joined
Sep 22, 2017
Messages
6
Reaction score
0
Hope I'm in the right spot ... been playing with BI for years and have deployed a dozen successful commercial video security sites using it as the backbone!!!! In my own use, we tend to use the UI3 interface on a lot of viewing stations scattered around building and recently have found some cheap touchscreen 15" screens coupled with the Google Fire stick (using built in web viewer ..... or the android app) provides the lowest cost viewing station with decent local control. All of our BI main boxes are usually hidden and/or in server rooms. So far so good. Now playing with the AI/DS and forked AITOOLS getting close to very solid alerts (flagged) without all the false alerts. Now the question ... UI3 can audio announce new alerts .... but would really like to see some option so that it audio alerts only when the new flagged alerts show up ... maybe even cycle the screen to the new flagged alert ???? Comments?
 
Last edited:

bp2008

Staff member
Joined
Mar 10, 2014
Messages
10,844
Reaction score
9,281
Location
USA
Hi @THEGreenBoxInc.

The audio alerts feature only makes sounds when Blue Iris tells it to, and I don't control that. I'm also not really aware of how the AI tools work with regard to alerting.

Automatically opening new alerts seems like it would be a bad idea, not only because it would take away the live view unexpectedly but because UI3 still can't do a great job of playing recordings that are still open for writing. It gets out of sync with Blue Iris in its knowledge of how long the clip is, which causes problems.
 
Joined
Sep 22, 2017
Messages
6
Reaction score
0
Hi @THEGreenBoxInc.

The audio alerts feature only makes sounds when Blue Iris tells it to, and I don't control that. I'm also not really aware of how the AI tools work with regard to alerting.

Automatically opening new alerts seems like it would be a bad idea, not only because it would take away the live view unexpectedly but because UI3 still can't do a great job of playing recordings that are still open for writing. It gets out of sync with Blue Iris in its knowledge of how long the clip is, which causes problems.
Makes sense .... I'm going to keep probing for ways to make a web page make a sound when a flagged alert appears ... maybe some of the alerting items in AITools already. Thanks for reply.
 

bp2008

Staff member
Joined
Mar 10, 2014
Messages
10,844
Reaction score
9,281
Location
USA
If you just need a sound to play when a flagged alert is added, I could probably make that happen. But the alert would need to already have its flag when it appears in the list. I doubt that is how the AI tool works?

You'd also need to already be on the Alert list when the alert was added.
 

xjust

n3wb
Joined
Jan 19, 2021
Messages
22
Reaction score
3
Location
romania
any way to autoload ui3 in fullscreen ?
im using a LG smart tv's browser, and it would be nice after starting the browser to go fullscreen automatically
 

DouglasteR

Young grasshopper
Joined
Nov 15, 2015
Messages
31
Reaction score
5
The fire sticks work well.
If you run into problems with it timing out when you turn off the TV, do a search on this site for instructions to fix that.
Can you please elaborate how you did it ?

I'm thinking in set up the fire stick in the kitchen's TV so anyone can just switch to HDMI2 and see who's at the door.

The FPS is decent ?
Does it use the native browser ?
The HDMI power is enough or the USB power is a must ?

Any other tips?

Thanks and cheers !
 
Top