Blue Iris UI3

biggen

Known around here
Joined
May 6, 2018
Messages
2,203
Reaction score
2,158
I had that problem with Amazon Fire's Silk. I switched to Chrome and it's been working fine. Don't look at me...
So for me, its broken on Chome but I don't get any of those error messages with Firefox. Odd. I'm on Chrome Version 90.0.4430.93 (Official Build) (64-bit). I'll have to fire up my desktop to check with Edge since that is the only computer I have in the house that runs Windows.

But its definitely something that changed from 5.3.x to 5.4.x giving me issues. I still have my business running 5.3.x and my laptop (with Chrome) works perfectly when viewing those camera. Its only my home installation that I upgraded to stable 5.4.x that is causing the problems with the same laptop/browser combination.
 
Last edited:

bp2008

Staff member
Joined
Mar 10, 2014
Messages
11,970
Reaction score
12,343
Location
USA
Upgrade to stable 5.4.3.12 two days ago and I'm getting errors in UI3 now complaining about "Alerts". Restarting the VM seems to fix it for a while, and then it happens again after several hours. Just restarted the VM and the problem came back immediately.

Any ideas? I've not emailed support yet.

View attachment 88456
Show that to Blue Iris support. That sort of error has happened many times in the past because Blue Iris does not use a proper JSON encoder, so sometimes it accidentally violates the syntax rules. If the bug isn't obvious on his end, he might ask for remote access to your system. Or worse he might just forward the support email to me and not look at it at all. sigh
 

biggen

Known around here
Joined
May 6, 2018
Messages
2,203
Reaction score
2,158
Support emailed me back and told me that 5.4.4.8 fixed the Chrome/JSON issue. I usually don't like to use his non-stable releases but I took the chance to get clips working in Chrome again and, sure enough, they are working again.
 

bp2008

Staff member
Joined
Mar 10, 2014
Messages
11,970
Reaction score
12,343
Location
USA
Let me guess. Backslashes in your recording file paths (customized paths)? \ is a backslash. They weren't getting escaped correctly in the JSON responses. At least that is what I determined a couple days ago when I logged in to someone's system to figure out the problem. There could have been more issues than just this one because Blue Iris doesn't use a mature JSON encoding library.
 

biggen

Known around here
Joined
May 6, 2018
Messages
2,203
Reaction score
2,158
Let me guess. Backslashes in your recording file paths (customized paths)? \ is a backslash. They weren't getting escaped correctly in the JSON responses. At least that is what I determined a couple days ago when I logged in to someone's system to figure out the problem. There could have been more issues than just this one because Blue Iris doesn't use a mature JSON encoding library.
I didn't do much troubleshooting to determine exactly what was causing the error messages but that sounds right. Chrome was the only browser I found that the issue manifested itself so I don't know if Chrome is more or less strict when it comes to JSON conventions.
 

Slate2000

Young grasshopper
Joined
May 2, 2016
Messages
68
Reaction score
23
Location
Moseley VA
I can't figure out on UI3 where the speaker symbol went. It used to be in the lower left line just before the LIVE: date & time. It shows on one laptop but not this one. I checked the UI3 setting but nothing stands out. What am I missing here?
 

erkme73

BIT Beta Team
Joined
Nov 9, 2014
Messages
1,410
Reaction score
1,251
I'm running into audio delayed start when playing back recorded clips via UI3. Regardless of camera chosen, playback starts with no audio for about 4-5 seconds - then the audio begins - but offset by the delayed amount (or even more). Live streams have synced audio, with no delay on playback. Playback directly on the console also has perfect audio.

I've tried different playback qualities - from 360 to V2, and they all have the same delay. Did I screw something up in the settings?
 

bp2008

Staff member
Joined
Mar 10, 2014
Messages
11,970
Reaction score
12,343
Location
USA
I can't think of anything to cause audio delay of that magnitude. Delay of up to 800ms or so is fairly normal in UI3, but beyond about 700ms, UI3 is coded to be very aggressive about dropping unplayed audio packets to keep the delay low.

You can look in the Stats for Nerds panel to see some information about the audio.

Ideal behavior is for the audio bit rate to be perfectly constant, but realistically it is common to see an an occasional spike down and up particularly if you are accessing via the internet. If the bit rate is 0 then it means no audio data was received during that moment.

The audio buffer is meant to be spiky as audio packets arrive periodically but get consumed continuously. The value here should be spiky but remain between 100ms and about 800ms. If it ever reaches 0, that means no audio is available to play and suggests there was a problem. If you see it above 1000ms, that probably indicates a problem with UI3 or with your web browser.

1622430469963.png

That is a fairly normal appearance when using the HTML5 video player. If your audio graphs look about like that, then the problem is almost certainly with Blue Iris.
 

erkme73

BIT Beta Team
Joined
Nov 9, 2014
Messages
1,410
Reaction score
1,251
Okay, let me finish my bedtime stories with my kids, and I will do some playing tonight and report back here
 

hikky_b

Pulling my weight
Joined
Nov 24, 2019
Messages
123
Reaction score
135
Location
London
I can't think of anything to cause audio delay of that magnitude. Delay of up to 800ms or so is fairly normal in UI3, but beyond about 700ms, UI3 is coded to be very aggressive about dropping unplayed audio packets to keep the delay low.

You can look in the Stats for Nerds panel to see some information about the audio.

Ideal behavior is for the audio bit rate to be perfectly constant, but realistically it is common to see an an occasional spike down and up particularly if you are accessing via the internet. If the bit rate is 0 then it means no audio data was received during that moment.

The audio buffer is meant to be spiky as audio packets arrive periodically but get consumed continuously. The value here should be spiky but remain between 100ms and about 800ms. If it ever reaches 0, that means no audio is available to play and suggests there was a problem. If you see it above 1000ms, that probably indicates a problem with UI3 or with your web browser.

That is a fairly normal appearance when using the HTML5 video player. If your audio graphs look about like that, then the problem is almost certainly with Blue Iris.
I believe it is a current issue with BI. I also get 7-10s delay on audio when viewing previous clips. Live viewing does not show the same delay. Will report to Ken.

Screenshot 2021-05-31 at 11.50.25.png
 

erkme73

BIT Beta Team
Joined
Nov 9, 2014
Messages
1,410
Reaction score
1,251
@hikky_b - let us know what you learn from Ken. I'd send a report too but don't want to come across as THAT guy who complains too often.
 

Afinadian

n3wb
Joined
Sep 1, 2020
Messages
1
Reaction score
0
Location
Canada
No, I can't add a time option; that would make it far too complex keeping track of which motion events or triggers the UI had already responded to.
The only option related to this is to choose whether cameras get maximized upon BI motion detect or upon camera trigger. The default (Trigger) should be more stable in terms of keeping cameras maximized longer.
How can I disable this?
 

Spuds

n3wb
Joined
Nov 12, 2018
Messages
18
Reaction score
12
Location
TN, USA
Is it possible to add the "use sub stream if available" to the convert/export options? It is an option on the main program but I don't see that exposed in UI3.
 
Top