Blue Iris UI3

hikky_b

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Nov 24, 2019
Messages
62
Reaction score
59
Location
London
Hmm I checked and i have this set to 25fps already and it still sits a 5-6fps....
Is this the default All Cameras group or another group you have created? Webcast settings are per group.
 
Joined
Apr 18, 2021
Messages
6
Reaction score
5
Location
Australia
All cameras are currently set at 25fps I have been playing with lower frame rates for both the main and sub stream with zero impact. I have lowered them to 15fps at the same time I also lower the I frame to match the frame rate. I have also tried doubling the I frame to see if that would help but nothing. I am running this on an i7 processor with 16G of ram. Using 500g Wd ssd and a seagate ironwolf 2tb drive for storage.
 

bp2008

Staff member
Joined
Mar 10, 2014
Messages
10,915
Reaction score
9,438
Location
USA
Well heck. 4 cams with sub streams enabled and no high res set, it should have no problem doing 25 fps.
 
Joined
Apr 18, 2021
Messages
6
Reaction score
5
Location
Australia
Thats what I thought, I can't pinpoint where the problem is. Network seems fine, it's all cat6 there was some cpu spiking that I pinpointed coming from having number plate recognition turned on for one camera, turned of and thats sorted....all the tweaking has brought cpu usage right down and mostly sits around 10%.
 

hikky_b

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Nov 24, 2019
Messages
62
Reaction score
59
Location
London
Thats what I thought, I can't pinpoint where the problem is. Network seems fine, it's all cat6 there was some cpu spiking that I pinpointed coming from having number plate recognition turned on for one camera, turned of and thats sorted....all the tweaking has brought cpu usage right down and mostly sits around 10%.
Try creating a test group with a couple of cameras, enable group webcasting and see if you experience the same issue.
 
Joined
Apr 18, 2021
Messages
6
Reaction score
5
Location
Australia
Lol...so got Home From work, looked at the suggestion from hikky_b and was about to create a Group when i had a massive face palm moment...hikky_b you were right it was my webcast settings, it was set on the default group and not the group i had created so i changed it from the Drop down menu accessed webcast settings and sure enough 5fps...change to 25 and footage on ui3 is smooth...really appreciate the help, thanks. (helps to take a break from a problem)
 

hikky_b

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Nov 24, 2019
Messages
62
Reaction score
59
Location
London
Lol...so got Home From work, looked at the suggestion from hikky_b and was about to create a Group when i had a massive face palm moment...hikky_b you were right it was my webcast settings, it was set on the default group and not the group i had created so i changed it from the Drop down menu accessed webcast settings and sure enough 5fps...change to 25 and footage on ui3 is smooth...really appreciate the help, thanks. (helps to take a break from a problem)
Been there, done that! Glad you found the problem :)
 

ChrisX

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Nov 18, 2016
Messages
107
Reaction score
4
Can i select a special cam to activate/deactivate Auto Maximize ? Not with groups. ? Thanks
 

hikky_b

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Nov 24, 2019
Messages
62
Reaction score
59
Location
London
Can i select a special cam to activate/deactivate Auto Maximize ? Not with groups. ? Thanks
You are not able to specify which cameras Auto Maximize. UI3 will maximize any camera that is triggered or detecting motion.
 
Joined
Jul 24, 2020
Messages
10
Reaction score
8
Location
Mordor
@bp2008, when displaying ui3 on iOS, there is no way to enable audio. Do you have any idea what the issue might be? AAC should be supported by the iOS browser, so I don't think it's a codec problem. The use case is monitoring cams via an iPad, which is an excellent platform for the task.
 

bp2008

Staff member
Joined
Mar 10, 2014
Messages
10,915
Reaction score
9,438
Location
USA
I don't use iOS devices so I'm not really sure what the state of them is, but some features don't work. Open UI3's "About" window and see what it says about incompatible features.

To be clear, the missing features are due to Apple restricting the capabilities of the mobile safari web browser engine. Even if you download different web browsers you will probably find they have the same limitations because Apple will not allow any third-party web browser engine on iOS.
 
Joined
Jul 24, 2020
Messages
10
Reaction score
8
Location
Mordor
I don't use iOS devices so I'm not really sure what the state of them is, but some features don't work. Open UI3's "About" window and see what it says about incompatible features.
Looks like it's complaining about AudioBuffer.copyToChannel not being supported.
 

bp2008

Staff member
Joined
Mar 10, 2014
Messages
10,915
Reaction score
9,438
Location
USA
Looks like it's complaining about AudioBuffer.copyToChannel not being supported.
That sounds familiar.

Blue Iris sends audio in a format invented about 50 years ago, and web browsers do not support it natively so I had to decode the audio in JavaScript and feed the raw audio buffers into the Web Audio API. iOS is the only major platform which doesn't allow this for reasons known only to Apple.

It would be technically possible to work around this by encoding the audio as AAC which even Apple's browser should be able to play natively, but that would be quite complex and inefficient, absolutely not worth my time.
 

OICU2

BIT Beta Team
Joined
Jan 12, 2016
Messages
347
Reaction score
106
Location
PA
Have there been any recent changes that would cause my CPU to max at 100 when viewing through UI3? I started happening a few updates ago. If I stop viewing through UI3, it goes back to normal at about 30-40%. I do have all my cams setup to use the substream, is there a way to confirm UI3 is using all substreams?

Thx
 

OICU2

BIT Beta Team
Joined
Jan 12, 2016
Messages
347
Reaction score
106
Location
PA
Have there been any recent changes that would cause my CPU to max at 100 when viewing through UI3? I started happening a few updates ago. If I stop viewing through UI3, it goes back to normal at about 30-40%. I do have all my cams setup to use the substream, is there a way to confirm UI3 is using all substreams?

Thx
It may be a BI thing.. I just updated to the latest version and now BI is crashing about every minute and restarting. I haven't changed anything on the system.
 
Joined
Jul 24, 2020
Messages
10
Reaction score
8
Location
Mordor
Blue Iris sends audio in a format invented about 50 years ago, and web browsers do not support it natively so I had to decode the audio in JavaScript and feed the raw audio buffers into the Web Audio API.
Yikes! After seeing their Android app, I am not surprised. Seems like they need some dev help with skills from this century.

Thanks for confirming it's nothing that I can fix, short of reimplementing the webui :D.
 
Top