Blue Iris Web Server not found on port 81?

Alaska Country

Pulling my weight
Joined
Jun 10, 2021
Messages
149
Reaction score
129
Location
Alaska
Installed the 2nd NIC card and internet is back on the BI machine. Will do another read of the dual NIC thread and make sure my settings are as specified. So far, no connections from the BI machine side to the other computer on the same LAN.
 

Alaska Country

Pulling my weight
Joined
Jun 10, 2021
Messages
149
Reaction score
129
Location
Alaska
Some success but not there yet.

The Asus router GUI can be accessed from the BI computer through the network at 192.168.1.1.

The desk top computer can ping the BI computer at 192.168.55.10.

Ping Results.PNG

The BI remote access wizard has some green check marks plus some red x's.

Turned off all but the public firewalls in Windows 10 on both BI and the desktop. Nothing changed.

Here is the network layout. Not a pretty graphic but it will do at this point.

System-Layout.png

When on the desk top computer and using 192.168.55.10 the following is displayed on the desk top web browser.

The connection has timed out

The server at 192.168.55.10 is taking too long to respond.
 
Joined
Dec 28, 2019
Messages
9,747
Reaction score
22,536
Location
New Jersey
Windows doesn't route traffic between the two NICs by default. This is by design to isolate the two different network IPs. The only way to access the .55 network is from the BI machine as a result.
 

VideoDad

n3wb
Joined
Apr 13, 2022
Messages
20
Reaction score
18
Location
USA
Some success but not there yet.

The Asus router GUI can be accessed from the BI computer through the network at 192.168.1.1.

The desk top computer can ping the BI computer at 192.168.55.10.

View attachment 131329
Here is the network layout. Not a pretty graphic but it will do at this point.

View attachment 131330

When on the desk top computer and using 192.168.55.10 the following is displayed on the desk top web browser.

The connection has timed out

The server at 192.168.55.10 is taking too long to respond.
Your Asus router is on 192.168.1.1 and the devices directly connected to it should all be 192.168.1.x

Run ipconfig on the desktop PC. What's its IP?
It should be 192.168.1.(something)
Run ipconfig on the Blue Iris PC. What's its IP?
It should be 192.168.1.(something else)
If that's not the case, then you've done something to force the IP address. Undo that and make sure they are in the same subnet as the router (192.168.1.x).

Now ping from one to the other and confirm you can see each from the other. Finally try the IP address of the BI PC in your browser, first on Blue Iris. Do you see the UI3 web page? Then try that on your other desktop PC. You should also see it there.
 

Alaska Country

Pulling my weight
Joined
Jun 10, 2021
Messages
149
Reaction score
129
Location
Alaska
Here are some screen shots of the IP Config for both the BI machine and the desktop. Both are connected to the LAN with the BI machine having two NICs and the desktop one.

Used the instructions as posted at:


The goal is to isolate the BI cameras and BI itself from the internet while still allowing the desktop, on the same LAN having camera access for changing setting and viewing BI.

The way the system is now configured, camera settings and BI are all accessible on the BI machine only. With the addition of the 2nd NIC internet is now also operational on the BI machine.

Below the Desktop IP Config settings.

Desk Top IP Config.PNG

Below the BI IP Config settings.

BI IP Config.PNG

Below the BI IPv4

IPv4 BI.PNG

Below the BI IPv4 Advanced

IPv4 BI Advanced.PNG

Below the BI web server

BI Web Server.PNG

The "Remote, external (WAN/Internet) access" screen on the BI machine comes up at 127.0.0.1 and if refreshed at 74.72.xxx.xx. Using the 74.72 etc IP address will enable a login to the router GUI on both the desktop and BI machines.

Using 192.168.1.50 on the BI machine will bring up the BI web server GUI, but not on the desktop.
 
Last edited:

VideoDad

n3wb
Joined
Apr 13, 2022
Messages
20
Reaction score
18
Location
USA
Here are some screen shots of the IP Config for both the BI machine and the desktop. Both are connected to the LAN with the BI machine having two NICs and the desktop one.

Used the instructions as posted at:


The goal is to isolate the BI cameras and BI itself from the internet while still allowing the desktop, on the same LAN having camera access for changing setting and viewing BI.

The way the system is now configured, camera settings and BI are all accessible on the BI machine only. With the addition of the 2nd NIC internet is now also operational on the BI machine.

Below the Desktop IP Config settings.

View attachment 131490

Below the BI IP Config settings.

View attachment 131490

Below the BI IPv4

View attachment 131492

Below the BI IPv4 Advanced

View attachment 131493

Below the BI web server

View attachment 131494

The "Remote, external (WAN/Internet) access" screen on the BI machine comes up at 127.0.0.1 and if refreshed at 74.72.xxx.xx. Using the 74.72 etc IP address will enable a login to the router GUI on both the desktop and BI machines.

Using 192.168.1.50 on the BI machine will bring up the BI web server GUI, but not on the desktop.
It looks like NIC#2 has 192.168.1.120 and that's what you should use for the webserver. Try that from both PCs.
 

Alaska Country

Pulling my weight
Joined
Jun 10, 2021
Messages
149
Reaction score
129
Location
Alaska
It looks like NIC#2 has 192.168.1.120 and that's what you should use for the webserver. Try that from both PCs.
Yes that WORKS on both BI and Desktop to log into the BI server. Thank you so very much!!!!

Did notice on IE 11 on the desktop that it did complain about active X, but can try another browser.

Did try 192.168.55.12 the IP address of one of the cameras and it will not come up on the desktop but only on the BI machine. Is that the normal SOP?
 

Flintstone61

Known around here
Joined
Feb 4, 2020
Messages
3,530
Reaction score
5,499
Location
Minnesota USA

VideoDad

n3wb
Joined
Apr 13, 2022
Messages
20
Reaction score
18
Location
USA
Yes that WORKS on both BI and Desktop to log into the BI server. Thank you so very much!!!!

Did notice on IE 11 on the desktop that it did complain about active X, but can try another browser.

Did try 192.168.55.12 the IP address of one of the cameras and it will not come up on the desktop but only on the BI machine. Is that the normal SOP?
You've isolated your cameras to their own subnet (192.168.55.x) so they are only visible to the BI PC. That's what you wanted, right? That way they can't reach out to the internet or be reached from other devices.
 

Broachoski

Getting comfortable
Joined
Jun 21, 2019
Messages
196
Reaction score
337
Location
Texas
Your IPCONFIG photo on the BI machine shows both NIC's are configured as 192.168.1.xx
Shouldn't the one that the cameras are connected to be 192.168.55.xx ?
 

IAmATeaf

Known around here
Joined
Jan 13, 2019
Messages
2,611
Reaction score
2,040
Location
United Kingdom
Your IPCONFIG photo on the BI machine shows both NIC's are configured as 192.168.1.xx
Shouldn't the one that the cameras are connected to be 192.168.55.xx ?
This, one your NICs is configured with both the .1 and .55 networks which isn’t what you want to do.

Pick a NIC and configure that to the .1 network, that will be the NIC that will give the BI PC internet access and that will be the IP address you use to to access BI from a browser within your home network.

Configure the other NIC to the .55 network, that NIC you plug into your POE switch that all your cams are connected to and also do not plug that switch back into your main home internet, you want to keep the 2 networks separate.
 

Alaska Country

Pulling my weight
Joined
Jun 10, 2021
Messages
149
Reaction score
129
Location
Alaska
You've isolated your cameras to their own subnet (192.168.55.x) so they are only visible to the BI PC. That's what you wanted, right? That way they can't reach out to the internet or be reached from other devices.
Camera isolation from the net is fine. However, it would be nice to use a different computer on the same LAN to access not only the BI web server, but to also access the Dahua camera settings.

The process at this point, is to use IE-11 by manually entering the IP address of an individual camera and making changes, but only on the BI machine. Understand why it works this way as there a two different subnets. To keep the isolation, the two should not be interconnected.

Is there a way in BI, that will list the cameras so that when camera settings are to be changed it is a matter of clicking a box or link to access that camera's settings? i.e. just like clicking on the blue "e" in a Dahua NVR GUI?

If not, then one will have to keep a list of a dozen seperate IP addresses associated with a certain cameras and enter that address manually for each camera when a setting needs to be updated.
 

Alaska Country

Pulling my weight
Joined
Jun 10, 2021
Messages
149
Reaction score
129
Location
Alaska
Your IPCONFIG photo on the BI machine shows both NIC's are configured as 192.168.1.xx
Shouldn't the one that the cameras are connected to be 192.168.55.xx ?
Could try it and see what happens. However, as best I can tell, all is working 100%. The BI web server is accessible on two other desktop Window 10 computers on the same LAN. Please let me know what should be changed and when changed what should be the outcome.

The first camera starts with an IP address at 192.168.55.12. The next camera at 192.168.55.14, etc.
 

wittaj

IPCT Contributor
Joined
Apr 28, 2019
Messages
11,787
Reaction score
20,978
Location
USA
If you use remote desktop, then you can remote into the BI computer and see the BI console and get into the camera gui settings.
 

mikeynags

Getting comfortable
Joined
Mar 14, 2017
Messages
943
Reaction score
800
Location
CT
The first Ethernet adapter should only have 1 IP address. You have 2 - 192.168.1.x and then 192.168.55.x address. This may be leading to some of the confusion. The 2nd NIC should be on 192.168.55.x with no default gateway configured. This will be dedicated to camera access. The BI UI interface should then be bound to the 192.168.1.x address so that it can be accessed from the rest of your network and the BI PC can also have access to internet as well.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 

looney2ns

IPCT Contributor
Joined
Sep 25, 2016
Messages
12,913
Reaction score
16,254
Location
Evansville, In. USA
Camera isolation from the net is fine. However, it would be nice to use a different computer on the same LAN to access not only the BI web server, but to also access the Dahua camera settings.

The process at this point, is to use IE-11 by manually entering the IP address of an individual camera and making changes, but only on the BI machine. Understand why it works this way as there a two different subnets. To keep the isolation, the two should not be interconnected.

Is there a way in BI, that will list the cameras so that when camera settings are to be changed it is a matter of clicking a box or link to access that camera's settings? i.e. just like clicking on the blue "e" in a Dahua NVR GUI?

If not, then one will have to keep a list of a dozen seperate IP addresses associated with a certain cameras and enter that address manually for each camera when a setting needs to be updated.
Open the camera settings page in BI, then click on the video tab. then click on the blue underlined IP address. That will open your default browser to the cams login page
1656012044115.png
 
Top