Blueiris lag despite low CPU usage

udsco

n3wb
Reaction score
Hi all,

I am hoping to get some help with my setup below, please note that I am not a professional network engineer/installed. These are being used at my retail shop.
I have the setup below but am getting a lot of lag on my cameras, this lag steadily increases if I activate more than about 5 cameras (this does vary). My CPU usage is only about 40-50% with 5 cameras active but the lag still exists. The lag at time can be a couple of minutes on some cameras.

Optimisations I have tried:

• Cameras set to H265+
  • Quicksync activated
  • All cameras on Direct to disk recording
  • Frame rate set to 15fps on both the camera and in Blueiris

My setup is that I have 2 switches, Switch 1 is connected to Switch 2 and my PC is plugged into Switch 2. Switch 2 then plugs into my router. Cat6 cables have been used throughout.

SPECS:
Computer with BlueIris: OptiPlex 5080 (10th Generation Intel® CoreTM i7-10700 (8-Core, 16MB Cache, 2.9GHz to 4.8GHz, 65W) with 16GBDDR4 non-ECC Memory
Switches: 2 x TL-SG1016PE (TP-LINK)
Cameras: 16 in total, majority are Hikvision - DS-2CD2385G1-I however I have had most disabled as the lag gets very bad.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!

SouthernYankee

IPCT Contributor
Reaction score
where is it lagging on the BI monitor ? On your phone ?
Define lagging. Is it one second 10 seconds, 60 seconds, 5 minutes ?
Are you using wifi for the cameras or viewing the cameras ?

Provide screen shots of
1) Blue iris status (lighting bolt graph,upper left corner) clip storage tab
2) blue Iris status cameras tab
3) cameras setting from in the camera (NOT BI) frame rate, iframe value, bit rate quality......

udsco

n3wb
Reaction score
Hi guys, thanks for your replies.

• It is lagging on the monitor of the PC running BI.
  • When I say lagging there are a couple of things, the time differential between the camera time and blueiris time get further away from each other, see below