Brand/model suggestions, 8MP/2.8mm.

Reaction score
Hey everyone, I'll start out by saying that I am very new to IP cameras and security cameras in general. Based on some YouTube videos I picked up a few Hikvision DS-2CD2385G1-IB cameras and set them up using BlueIris (recommended here, thanks!). Since the install (over a year ago) I have been very happy with them and was hoping to purchase a few more. I originally purchased them from B&H Photo but they now are listed as discontinued. I currently have 3 cameras and would like to add 3 more to finish my property.

The specs for the current cameras are:
3840 x 2160 Resolution at 20 fps
IR LEDs for Night Vision up to 100'
2.8mm Fixed Lens with f/1.6 Aperture
102 x 55° H/V Field of View
120 dB Wide Dynamic Range
3D Digital Noise Reduction
microSD Card Slot Supports up to 128GB
RJ45 Ethernet with PoE
ONVIF Compliant, Profiles S and G
IP67 Rated for Outdoor Use

These cameras with these specs have been great for me so I don't think I need much if any more than this, the resolution, fps and 2.8mm lens are all fine with me. I would prefer to have black housings if possible. I have been looking at Lorex LNE9242B’s but have never used them before. I have 4 spots left on my poe switch and I'd like to stay at less than $350 per cam. If anyone has any suggestions or recommendations I’m happy to hear them. Thanks for any help.

wittaj

IPCT Contributor
Reaction score
The Lorex is Dahua OEM that is considered a budget cam that uses lessor materials and sensors. That 8MP on that sensor will be useless at night. Even though the Hik (1/2" sensor) you have is not on the ideal MP/sensor ratio, you will notice a significant difference in video quality for the same resolution.

Sensor size is more important.