Brand new to all of this, looking for suggestions for a new system.

newcambie

n3wb
Reaction score
Greetings!

I am currently in search of a new IP based 4K surveillance system with 8 cameras.

I would like a turnkey solution. I have read and watched videos on Blue Iris, and it looks awesome, but with the PC parts shortages at the moment, and lack of time to setup things the way I would want them in that system, I would prefer an NVR solution for now. Perhaps upgrading to Blue Iris in the future.

I just want a high quality system. I have been looking at Lorex cameras & systems, and have found that they are rebadged Dahau with inferior firmware. Lorex seems to be OK for my purposes, but I am a beginner, so I really have no frame of reference.

I also noticed while searching online, I am inundated with recommendations for Reolink cameras & systems, so much so, that I suspect paid shills may be flooding YouTube & "review sites" with positive "reviews." Just a thought, I may be wrong.

To be brutally honest with all of you, after days of mind numbing research, I have decided to ask for help from those who have experience with this. I am open to any ideas & suggestions.

I would like to purchase my equipment from US based retailer.

Thanks!

wittaj

IPCT Contributor
Reaction score
Too many people get fascinated with the wide angle views that 2.8mm and other "all in one units" like a Reolink or Arlo or Lorex can provide and chase megapixels. But the picture is really no different than taking a pic from the same place with a cell phone - take that picture and then zoom in and it is a pixelated mess.

You would be shocked how close someone needs to be to a 2.8 lens in order to ID them. And how much additional light is needed at night (when it matters most) for a 4k camera. There currently isn't an economical 8MP/sensor combination at the moment that any would recommend.