Buying advice: Is this (DS-2CD2142FWD-IW) a good choice?

ZyBeR

Young grasshopper
Reaction score
I'm looking to setup a surveillance system, but as I have no experience with these camers I'm going to start with one to make sure they are what I'm looking for.

So this one will be mounted outdoors and be pointing to my house.
The triangle I'm looking to film is about 14m wide and each side (seen from the camera) is 4m and 13m.

I do want English firmware which can be updated if needed. Is this camera below a good chooise?
And yes, I want Wifi as it makes installation so much easier for me.

Let me know what you think and if you have any better suggestions please post links :)

http://www.aliexpress.com/item/Neutral-English-Version-IP-Camera-4-0-megapixel-V5-4-1-CCTV-Camera-POE-Security-System/32701450363.html?spm=2114.13010208.99999999.268.35NcHe

fenderman

Staff member
Reaction score
But a turret..you will likely have issues with ir reflection using the dome.

fenderman

Staff member
Reaction score
But are there any wifi turrets?
First, wifi is a terrible choice for security cameras.....run a wire. Second choice, use powerline. Third, ANY ip camera can be made wireless using a cheap wifi bridge.

ZyBeR

Young grasshopper
Reaction score
Why are they terrible? If you have a large installation I can see the issue, same with a large wifi or lot's of wifi's in this air disturbing the signal.

Do you mean they dropout? Are they unreliable? Do the video stream lagg over wifi?

fenderman

Staff member
Reaction score
Why are they terrible? If you have a large installation I can see the issue, same with a large wifi or lot's of wifi's in this air disturbing the signal.

Do you mean they dropout? Are they unreliable? Do the video stream lagg over wifi?
yes, drops etc...hire someone competent to run a cable...you need to power the camera anyway. Wifi cameras are not like laptops and phones, dropped packets corrupt video.

nayr

IPCT Contributor
Reaction score