Cable runs to NVR.

ngiovas

n3wb
Reaction score
I am new to IP cameras and need some help with wiring an NVR. I currently have a wiring closet in the corner of my basement that houses all of the networking equipment. My plan was to put the NVR in this closet and run cables to the cameras from this closet.

3-4 of the cameras I plan to mount will be in or around my garage which is on the opposite side of the house. I was originally planning to run a single network cable to the garage and then have a switch with PoE capabilities to extend out to each of the cameras. Is this an option, or do I have to run individual cables from each camera back to the NVR?

fenderman

Staff member
Reaction score
You can do it...that is one of the benefits of IP cameras.

nayr

IPCT Contributor
Reaction score
you can put a switch out in the garage, but the point of having a wiring closet is to terminate everything in it.. I too have a wiring closet, with about 5 runs currently out to my garage.

Garages can be pretty harsh environments for equipment not designed for it.. even small PoE switches are typically actively cooled, meaning fans are going to suck up all the dust and grime in the garage and build up inside the switch, You need to check the spec sheets for the switches and make sure the operating temperatures are something your garage can stay within.

Cable is cheap, pull one cable out there with a string attached, then use the string to pull the next one with another string attached.. repeat until you have enough out there.

The main reason for terminating everything in your closet is so all the network equipment can run off the same UPS, and same circuit.. I dont know about you but my garage circuit is the one I trip the most, due to my power tools.

ekaz

Getting the hang of it
Reaction score