Camera choices

emin-j

n3wb
Reaction score
Hi all, I’m a total newbie to cctv but willing to learn!
I have a driveway 20’ wide x 30’ long with two cars side by side, another car parked on the road at the end of the drive , so far I have purchased Hikvision 4 channel nvr (7600 series) a WDpurple 4TB sata drive
and have a roll of cat5 cable.
My next purchase is a camera, I believe a Hikvision camera would be best to match the dvr but which camera ? My initial thoughts were to mount a dome camera above the front door which overlooks the driveway or maybe a turret camera ? But it would stand out like a “sore thumb “ so was looking at mounting a camera under the soffit of our bay window which would be closer to the cars but the soffit is only deep enough to mount a bullet type camera.
Hope you get the picture (no pun intended).
I see the latest camera’s are 8MP but have seen posts on the forum recommending 2MP ? Should I buy the 8MP?
Also to cover the width of the driveway I thought maybe a 2.8mm lens but think this would fall short for ID purposes at the car parked on the road so perhaps a 4mm ?
I have been advised on another thread I might need more than one camera but would start with one and see how it goes.
So, dome,turret,or bullet.?
8MP,4MP,2MP, ?
2.8 fixed 4.0 fixed or maybe Vario ?
And what model number if you have a recommendation please.
Thank you for your patience!

mat200

IPCT Contributor
Reaction score
I have a driveway 20’ wide x 30’ long with two cars side by side, another car parked on the road at the end of the drive , so far I have purchased Hikvision 4 channel nvr (7600 series) a WDpurple 4TB sata drive
and have a roll of cat5 cable.