Camera selection for specific location. Would a PTZ be suitable here?

Shotglasspeppa

Getting the hang of it
Reaction score
I'm in the process of selecting cameras for my new place and am looking for feedback on a camera for this specific location. I was thinking of getting two 5442s to cover the driveway but am wondering if a ptz would be better suited for this specific location. There's another junction box with cat6 on the opposite side of the garage that I'll likely mount a 5442 to. Would a ptz pointing towards the driveway/street be able to track someone if they were to approach the house and walk up the driveway, then up the path to the front door (walking underneath the camera on the way)? I apologize if this seems like a ridiculous question but I am new to this whole security cam thing.

Last edited:

wittaj

IPCT Contributor
Reaction score
My neighbor has a very similar setup and the PTZ really has difficulty following the person as it goes underneath and around to the front door. A lot of times it follows to a point and then just looks off somewhere else nowhere near. Autotracking is not 100% like TV shows...

In my experience, and yours and others may vary, but the closer the object gets to the PTZ, the more difficult it seems to be to track it. Especially when they get right under it.

Given that your driveway is not long and the walkway is fairly defined, I think you would be better off taking the money for a PTZ and buying a couple more fixed cams. Then you don't have to worry if the PTZ is off looking somewhere else and you miss them busting your door in...