Camera suggestions for Apartment building hallways

Reaction score
Newbie here

I have read the cliff notes, wiki, @SouthernYankee's quick start, read 100s of posts, and I've searched. I couldn't find info on apartment public hallways. (And I'll keep going back to these great resources.)

Looking for public hallway camera suggestions of an apartment building. The hallways are lighted and existing cameras are ancient analog. Assuming I don't want a wide lens?

Thinking of getting a Dahua DVR, 16 or 32 channel, no POE. Buying from Andy. (But, he's on holiday this week.)

Will the IPCT and Hikvision cameras work on the Dahua DVR?

Camera suggestions?

Thank you

PS - I bought a $50 Reolink RLC-420 for learning, seems it doesn't work with SmartPSS, I tried all the ports. But, it does work with my Synology Surveillance station and Reolink app.

TonyR

IPCT Contributor
Reaction score
Consider a cam with an option in the built-in webGUI where you can go from "landscape" mode (width larger than height, 16:9 ratio) to a "portrait" or "corridor" mode (height larger than width, 9:16 ratio).

Vandal proof domes are usually suitable but they have their own issues, so I'd go with Dahua 2MP Starlight vari-focal turrets or the competing Hikvision Dark Fighter (or IPCT with Night Eye).

I'd stick with one manufacturer, either all Hikvision or all Dahua (or IPCT), NVR and cams.

You said "no POE". Is that a typo? POE is the best way to go, just get a POE NVR.

civic17

Getting the hang of it
Reaction score
Will you be running new wiring or keep your ancient wiring?

aristobrat

IPCT Contributor
Reaction score
Will the IPCT and Hikvision cameras work on the Dahua DVR?