Cameras all connected

Omar Mohammed

Young grasshopper
Joined
Mar 2, 2018
Messages
71
Reaction score
2
Hi Peeps,

Newbie here, and with help from fellow members here, I'm slowly getting there!!!!

I have 7 cameras which are connected to a POE Switch, which in turn is connected directly to my BI PC. The switch and cameras are all on the same subnet, so not communicating on the net.

Now, I want to be able to access the cameras remotely to view.

My PC has one RJ45 network port.

Please can someone help me here?!

Setup:

I7-8700 PC
7 x Dahua 5231
TPLink Smart Managed Switch
 

SouthernYankee

IPCT Contributor
Joined
Feb 15, 2018
Messages
2,269
Reaction score
1,300
Location
Houston Tx
Good progress.

Keeping it simple
I am not knowledgeable on the TPLink smart manage switch ?

is the TPLINK switch connected to the Home network ?
Is the BI PC connected to the switch or home network ?
What is the IP address of
1) TPlink switch
2) THE BI pc
3) the cameras
4) your home router
 

bguy

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Jan 28, 2016
Messages
101
Reaction score
40
Location
Castro Valley, CA, USA
The easiest solution is to get another network card for the BI PC, and use that to put the BI PC on your home network. You can get one easily for $10-20.
 

Omar Mohammed

Young grasshopper
Joined
Mar 2, 2018
Messages
71
Reaction score
2
I can easily get a network card. In the meantime I have a spare network switch... could I just use that?

Internet to switch. Cameras to switch. Switch to BI PC?
 

catcamstar

Known around here
Joined
Jan 28, 2018
Messages
1,045
Reaction score
662
I can easily get a network card. In the meantime I have a spare network switch... could I just use that?

Internet to switch. Cameras to switch. Switch to BI PC?
Sure you can, but if one of the cams is "smart enough" to guess the LAN gateway and it jumps out to the internet, you're lost. So before doing so, make sure block outbound & inbound traffic to your cams (either mac filter, ip filter, .. ).

Do also take into consideration where you would deploy your VPN services, as throwing around network devices might impact that plan too.

Good luck!
CC
 

Omar Mohammed

Young grasshopper
Joined
Mar 2, 2018
Messages
71
Reaction score
2
So, below is my setup. Based on above advice, I will get another network card and insert into BI PC. So one port would be for the POE switch with the cameras attached to it, and then the other port would be to go out to network switch. Is that correct?

Screenshot 2019-06-17 at 22.49.00.png
 

Omar Mohammed

Young grasshopper
Joined
Mar 2, 2018
Messages
71
Reaction score
2
Just to clarify, the BI PC, POE Switch and cameras are not connected to the internet.

The aim is to now be able to access the cameras via a mobile and or stream to a tv....

Please help
 

Omar Mohammed

Young grasshopper
Joined
Mar 2, 2018
Messages
71
Reaction score
2
@mikeynags ---- that would still protect my cameras from being hacked? Or do i need to mess around with IP address for the second NIC?
 

mikeynags

Pulling my weight
Joined
Mar 14, 2017
Messages
304
Reaction score
177
Location
CT - the tax you to death state
@mikeynags ---- that would still protect my cameras from being hacked? Or do i need to mess around with IP address for the second NIC?
The second NIC would be on the subnet the rest of your computers are on - by your drawing it looks like 192.168.70.X. Once you get that connected, what's the larger plan? Are you setting up a VPN so that you can see the BI PC remotely?
 

Omar Mohammed

Young grasshopper
Joined
Mar 2, 2018
Messages
71
Reaction score
2
The larger plan is to see the cameras remotely. I have a VPN Router already setup (192.168.70.x), which is protecting the whole home network.
 

mikeynags

Pulling my weight
Joined
Mar 14, 2017
Messages
304
Reaction score
177
Location
CT - the tax you to death state
The larger plan is to see the cameras remotely. I have a VPN Router already setup (192.168.70.x), which is protecting the whole home network.
OK - so the 2nd NIC would be on 192.168.70.X and that NIC would have a default gateway of 192.168.70.1. Make sure the first NIC on the 192.168.1.X camera network does not have any default gateway configured.
 

SouthernYankee

IPCT Contributor
Joined
Feb 15, 2018
Messages
2,269
Reaction score
1,300
Location
Houston Tx
Good diagram !

The IP of the BI PC address is in the range of 192.168.1.xxx

Please do not use the address 192.168.1.108. This is the default address of dahua cameras, so it would create a confect if you wanted to add more dahua cameras or need to do a hard reset on one of your cameras.

Not real sure how the sky address ia 192.168.0.1 and the netgear is 192.168.70.1 . I am assuming that the hue,samsung,firestick are all 192.168.1.70.xxx.

The simplest thing is to get a NIC card for the PI pc. Just make sure you have a slot for it and the card is the correct height. Some of the cards are two tall.
 

mikeynags

Pulling my weight
Joined
Mar 14, 2017
Messages
304
Reaction score
177
Location
CT - the tax you to death state
Good diagram !

The IP of the BI PC address is in the range of 192.168.1.xxx

Please do not use the address 192.168.1.108. This is the default address of dahua cameras, so it would create a confect if you wanted to add more dahua cameras or need to do a hard reset on one of your cameras.

Not real sure how the sky address ia 192.168.0.1 and the netgear is 192.168.70.1 . I am assuming that the hue,samsung,firestick are all 192.168.1.70.xxx.

The simplest thing is to get a NIC card for the PI pc. Just make sure you have a slot for it and the card is the correct height. Some of the cards are two tall.
I'm assuming the 192.168.0.1 is the internal address of the router. As long as he attaches that 2nd BI NIC to the netgear on 192.168.70.X - he should be fine.
 

Omar Mohammed

Young grasshopper
Joined
Mar 2, 2018
Messages
71
Reaction score
2
@mikeynags... absolutely...thats the incoming IP address of the SKY router. I then plugged in the VPN router with the IP of 192.168.70.1 which is then connected to the home network.

Will wait for the 2nd NIC and set it up.....fingers crossed....nearly there....THEN BLUE IRIS....WOW thats a whole other ball game!!!!
 

catcamstar

Known around here
Joined
Jan 28, 2018
Messages
1,045
Reaction score
662
Yep! And then you want to "debug" some camera's on their webinterface, and you can only do that on the BI pc, and not on your mobile. Then you "regret" not having vlans :) But this setup might serve you for a couple of years :)
 

Omar Mohammed

Young grasshopper
Joined
Mar 2, 2018
Messages
71
Reaction score
2
Hey Peeps, which app would you recommend for viewing the cameras remotely on an android phone?
 

Omar Mohammed

Young grasshopper
Joined
Mar 2, 2018
Messages
71
Reaction score
2
So, latest....

All my cameras are connected and recording perfectly.

I now want to be able to view the cameras on a mobile device, but this is proving difficult to work out how to do this.

I have 2 nic cards in the BI PC.

The 1st one which is talking to the cameras has an IP of 192.168.1.100, mask of 255.255.255.0 no default gateway.

The 2nd NIC which is connected to the home network has an IP of 192.168.70.109, mask of 255.255.255.0 and default gateway of 192 168.70.1.

My VPN router (netgear ddwrt) has an ip of 192.168.70.1

What am I not doing?
 
Top