Can't delete reserved account password

3dogpottery

Getting the hang of it
Reaction score
I am a newbie to security cameras and NVRs in general. From some reading I have done, the problem of deleting reserved accounts on cameras and NVRs is not new. However, I believe that I am doing everything right, but I still cannot change the password of the reserved accounts. I just received a new Dahua NVR4208. I logged into the admin account and created a new account with administration privileges. I then logged back in with the new account. However, no matter what I try, I cannot change the passwords on any of the reserved accounts.

An additional problem I a having is adding the one Dahua IPS-HFW4300S camera. I get a message that says that the camera is locked. Any suggestions are appreciated.

Larry

nayr

IPCT Contributor
Reaction score
use VPN to get into your network and access your cameras remotely instead of forwarding remote ports and it wont matter..

fenderman

Staff member
Reaction score
with respect to the locked camera, if you enter the wrong password several times you will be locked out for about 30 min...make sure no device with the wrong password is trying to login.

3dogpottery

Getting the hang of it
Reaction score
Thank you nayr for your reply. With all due respect, what I am trying to do is get this damn NVR to work.
And thank you fenderman. I have done the waiting game to make sure I was not locked out due to incorrect passwords. With this Dahua NVR,you can choose "Manual Mode" to enter cameras. For this camera, I made the following changes: Mode: DHCP (I configured my router to assign the same ip address based on the cameras MAC address), TCP port: I changed it to the port that I am forwarding on my asus router. RSTP port: I forwarded this external port to the same internal port (554). So, anyway, I can see my camera on a public LAN. I just cant get this stupid Dahua NVR to see it.