Changed password on my NVR now my cameras are bricked!

Discussion in 'Dahua' started by HappyChappie, Feb 9, 2019.

Share This Page

  1. HappyChappie

    HappyChappie n3wb

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2018
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    UK
    Hi Guys,

    I have a NVR4108HS-8P-4KS2 that I was trying to upgrade to online today.

    To cut a long one short I had forgotten my nvr password. No problem I thought, so I did a system (Only) reset put in my new password and bingo, no cameras.

    I'm currently running 2 x IPC-HDW5231R-Z, 2 x IPC-HDW4231EM-AS, 2 x IPC-HDW1320S and 2 x IPC-HDW1320S that I was about to replace with 2 x SD1A203T-GN.

    I'm getting the message "invalid user name or password" across all 8 cameras on the nvr screen. I'm thinking as I only reset the system the cameras are looking for the old password and therefore giving the message and not displaying. I can't for the life of me remember the old password and I've tried several of my favourites in the hope that the cameras will start working again, but no joy.

    Does anyone know of a workaround? I don't want to have to dismount and reset 8 cameras at various points around the house but if I need to I will. Hoping for a software solution get out to my problem.

    Anyone?

    Cheers and TIA from Scotland where it's 2 degrees C and torrential winds and rain!
     
  2. usaf_pride

    usaf_pride Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2017
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    45
    Reboot the cameras (which may require you to open them up and push the button), which if you forgot the password, you will need to do anyways. Then start over.
     
    HappyChappie likes this.
  3. HappyChappie

    HappyChappie n3wb

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2018
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    UK
    Thanks for the reply but that's exactly what I'm trying to avoid! lol. I'll sleep on it and get wrapped up tomorrow and get started.
     
  4. toolazyforalogin

    toolazyforalogin Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2018
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    21
    Agree with usaf_pride. Had the same issue last year.
     
    HappyChappie likes this.
  5. Cyberthug

    Cyberthug n3wb

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2017
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    7
    In Registration field from NVR try to edit CAM password, put the same password from NVR and connect, do this for all cameras.
     
    HappyChappie likes this.
  6. HappyChappie

    HappyChappie n3wb

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2018
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    UK
    I gave that a try but to no avail. Just in from resetting them all and they are all running fine again. Thanks for the help.
     
    Guido87 and usaf_pride like this.