Chromcast setup??

suzukifd

n3wb
Joined
Mar 6, 2018
Messages
21
Reaction score
1
I saw an updated to the APP that said it supports chrome cast but must have https enabled.
I am not running a stunnel on my server since i have a synology box and just running a reverse proxy to secure my connection from outside.

Any ways when I cast i just get a google logo. Has anyone got this working?
Thanks
Mike
 

fenderman

Staff member
Joined
Mar 9, 2014
Messages
33,623
Reaction score
13,025
I saw an updated to the APP that said it supports chrome cast but must have https enabled.
I am not running a stunnel on my server since i have a synology box and just running a reverse proxy to secure my connection from outside.

Any ways when I cast i just get a google logo. Has anyone got this working?
Thanks
Mike
from the release notes, doubt youll get around it..
  • Due to Google/Chromecast updates, it is now required that you use HTTPS (Stunnel or other) on your local server if you wish to use the Chromecast feature.
 

suzukifd

n3wb
Joined
Mar 6, 2018
Messages
21
Reaction score
1
Ok i get that. But all Stunnel is doing is a revers proxy. You are just taking 443 and redireting it to 81. So ticking the us https does nothing
 

Andreas w

n3wb
Joined
Jun 21, 2017
Messages
1
Reaction score
0
Same for me.. only the Google text..
I use stunnel and connected https
 

Red1221

n3wb
Joined
Jun 30, 2018
Messages
6
Reaction score
0
Location
Sioux Falls, SD
Same here, get a great big low-res Google logo. Chromecast is the biggest reason I set up https and of course it doesn't work.
 

Red1221

n3wb
Joined
Jun 30, 2018
Messages
6
Reaction score
0
Location
Sioux Falls, SD
Did you end up getting a solution from support for this?
Somewhat, they suggested using an ssl cert that was not self-signed, but I haven't been able to get a certificate authority-signed SSL cert working so I haven't been able to confirm if that works...
 

PeteCress

n3wb
Joined
May 23, 2016
Messages
26
Reaction score
2
Location
Paoli PA USA
My takeaway so far is that something needs to be done on my BI Server, but NOT on the cams or the Android device.

Have I got that part right?

Either way, has anybody gotten the BI Android app to do ChromeCast yet?
 

ronin1

n3wb
Joined
Jun 8, 2018
Messages
5
Reaction score
7
Location
US
I was able to get this working.

I use an Apache reverse proxy to enable SSL with a Let's Encrypt free ssl certificate and cast to a Vizio Smartcast TV. I had to ensure the dns record on my lan for the web server pointed to the internal IP of the server since my firewall isn't configured for nat reflection. Additionally, I had to manually set the dns server settings on my TV to utilize the internal dns server even though my dhcp server provides it. The Vizio TV appears to override dhcp dns settings and uses googles dns servers by default.
 

Brandanw

n3wb
Joined
Mar 3, 2018
Messages
5
Reaction score
0
Thanks heaps for that @ronin1 . Such a lot of effort but may be worth it. Will take a look and see if I can also get it going.
 
Top