CPU Usage & Throttling

Reaction score
Hello folks-

I am a video surveillance tech and have been using Blue Iris for a few years now. Love the program, love the flexibility. However, I'm running into a serious issue with the CPU down throttling to 47% maximum frequency, and of course, at this time, the CPU caps out at 100%. This *only* happens if I attempt to use the web server and/or view a clip inside the Blue Iris player. JPEG/ActiveX, doesn't matter which. It continues until I close the webserver (or BI player), and then goes back to normal within say, 30s.

I maintain 4 Blue Iris systems and this is the only one with this problem. Normally the CPU sits at 28%-35% with all cameras running, and jumps to 45%-65% when being pushed hard..i.e.. multiple channels recording and viewing clips/webserver, before it tacks out.

This particular system is an i7-2600 3.4ghz running 9 cameras, 7 3MP cameras (15fps, 2 @ 2048x1536, 5 @ 1080p), and two low-res cameras (one off-site). Here's a list of all the things I've done in an attempt to narrow down the issue.

Changed minimum process state to 100% in power options (disables intel speedstep supposedly, need to double check BIOS for C-state options).

Turned indexing off for all drives (primary HD is a SSD).

Enabled Direct-to-Disc & using H264 for all feeds.

Added Blue Iris directories, including video storage locations to Antivirus exceptions.

Turned off Windows Update (I prefer to tell it when to update).

Disabled System Restore & Sleep/Hibernation.

Set Blue Iris to run as a service.
^^^
Important note here: System runs 25%-35% as service, 33%-40% with Blue Iris interface opened. Viewing all 9 cameras with the interface open does not seem to cause the issue at all.