CPU Usage?

Ecko404

BIT Beta Team
Joined
May 5, 2014
Messages
111
Reaction score
23
Location
Montreal, Canada
Is it normal to have a high CPU usage with my setup?

No recordings (exept the two timelapse) I have 65% CPU usage.

I have an "old" Dell Vostro 430, i7 860 (2.8Ghz turbo boost 2.93Ghz) with 8GB of RAM, intel SSD as C drive (running BI) and the 1TB original computer drive as D drive (recording drive).

Camera setup in BI:

1x Hikvision DS-2CD2032-I (1920x1080) on primary stream [motion detection]
+ a hidden copy on sub stream (640x480) [constant timelapse, 30fps, 1 image every sec]

1x Hikvision DS-2CD2032-I (1920x1080) on primary stream [motion detection]
+ a hidden copy on sub stream (640x480) [constant timelapse, 30fps, 1 image every sec]

1x Hikvision DS-2CD2432F-I(W) (1920x1080) on primary stream [motion detection]

1x TRENDnet TV-IP672PI (1280x800) [motion detection]

1x TRENDnet TV-IP672WI (1280x800) [motion detection]

Thank's, Tom
 

fenderman

Staff member
Joined
Mar 9, 2014
Messages
34,065
Reaction score
13,986
Yes that is about right for the cams you are using, your settings and your pc. Using the direct to disk recording option in blue iris will help you significantly lower your usage. You may also want to lower your frame rate to 15.
 

paarlberg

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Apr 21, 2014
Messages
355
Reaction score
68
One thing that help me was turning the live view fps way down. I have mine set to 5fps for live view. I have 9 cams running, 7 @ 3MP and 2 @ 1.3MP. I typically run mid 30's to mid 40's cpu on an i7 3770k.

Just for a test, I removed the restriction above and it jumped to 55-65%.
 

fenderman

Staff member
Joined
Mar 9, 2014
Messages
34,065
Reaction score
13,986
Hardware suggestion for a possible upgrade?

I was looking at this:
http://dellrefurbished.ca/product/computers/desktops/precision/catcomdeskprecision/precision-t3500-xeon-quad-core-280-w3530/si6587691

But I dont't have a budget for hardware upgrade right now.

I was also looking at doing a clean install and running only BI on the pc.
This dell refurb you linked has a lower benchmark than your current i7 system. Also it has a discrete video card that will suck power. Its an outdated 2010 system, you dont want that. When you have the cash look for a more modern system. Ivy or haswell i7 or xeon. If you watch the lenovo/dell outlets they can be had for around 500 or less when on sale.
 

Ecko404

BIT Beta Team
Joined
May 5, 2014
Messages
111
Reaction score
23
Location
Montreal, Canada
One thing that help me was turning the live view fps way down. I have mine set to 5fps for live view. I have 9 cams running, 7 @ 3MP and 2 @ 1.3MP. I typically run mid 30's to mid 40's cpu on an i7 3770k.

Just for a test, I removed the restriction above and it jumped to 55-65%.
Thx, it worked! Dropped to 35-40 CPU :)

Video setting:
fps1.JPG
Record setting:
fps2.JPG
 

paarlberg

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Apr 21, 2014
Messages
355
Reaction score
68
Looks like you changed it in the camera. You can set it back to a higher fps for the camera, maybe 15 or so. Then, under BI options, the cameras tab, you can set "limit live preview rate (does not affect recording)" to 5.
 

networkcameracritic

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Mar 10, 2014
Messages
719
Reaction score
202
The problem is watching that many HD streams regardless of what software you use. For example, I have Milestone running with 10 cameras, mostly 3MP and it uses about 10% CPU on an old i3-540 processor as a server. But if I try and watch 10 cameras on my i7-4770, latest gen i7, cpu use can get very high, so I setup layouts that let me monitor key cameras during the day instead of all of them. In BlueIris, minimize the screen when not watching will use way less CPU.
 

paarlberg

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Apr 21, 2014
Messages
355
Reaction score
68
If you have the live view fps low like mine, minimizing only reduces CPU 2-4%.
 

sirsoccerhead

Young grasshopper
Joined
May 8, 2014
Messages
37
Reaction score
1
I just went direct to disk on my I-7 4770 and with 9 hik2032 cameras continuous recording I'm at 38% 2 are running 30fps and 7 are at 15fps no spikes and have 3 devices streaming the feed until I set up my splitter.
 

randy3y

n3wb
Joined
Jun 28, 2014
Messages
2
Reaction score
0
Is there information or discussion on how improving video card performance effects CPU usage? I am thinking about upgrading my video card.
 

fenderman

Staff member
Joined
Mar 9, 2014
Messages
34,065
Reaction score
13,986
Is there information or discussion on how improving video card performance effects CPU usage? I am thinking about upgrading my video card.
It will not improve performance at all. It will just suck more electricity. Integrated graphics are ideal both from a power consumption and hear generation standpoint.
 

petesky

n3wb
Joined
Aug 2, 2018
Messages
1
Reaction score
0
Location
Austria
Hello. I found this old thread and hope someone can help. I spy latest x86 on i7 . Only adio recording (44khz) but cpu always about 30% and higher. Is it possible to lower ? and from 2014
 
Last edited by a moderator:

fenderman

Staff member
Joined
Mar 9, 2014
Messages
34,065
Reaction score
13,986
Hello. I found this old thread and hope someone can help. I spy latest x86 on i7 . Only adio recording (44khz) but cpu always about 30% and higher. Is it possible to lower ?
This thread is specific to blue iris..and from 2014
 
Last edited:
Top