cpu utilization of BI process rises up to 100%

Discussion in 'General BI Talk' started by ypl, Jan 1, 2018.

Share This Page

  1. Cor

    Cor Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    May 5, 2017
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    15
    I now , changed my computer as " metered" internet connection ..... that should work as well.
     
    ypl likes this.
  2. Bboy486

    Bboy486 Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2015
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    3
    Is there instructions how to do this. My roll back option is greyed out.

    Sent from my SM-G955U using Tapatalk
     
  3. looney2ns

    looney2ns IPCT Contributor

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2016
    Messages:
    6,894
    Likes Received:
    5,157
    Location:
    Evansville, Indiana
    CPU usage creeping up slowly
     
  4. Bboy486

    Bboy486 Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2015
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    3
    Got it.

    I thiught this was for the onboard chip but I have a Nvidia 960 so I don't have the Intel option.

    Sent from my SM-G955U using Tapatalk
     
  5. AP-123

    AP-123 Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2016
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    11
    Tried the driver you linked to:
    upload_2018-1-14_19-58-19.png
     
  6. ypl

    ypl Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2017
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    43
    Location:
    Poland, Warsaw
    What cpu do you have?
     
  7. AP-123

    AP-123 Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2016
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    11
    Dell Inspiron 7050 tower, i7-7700 w/ 16GB RAM -120gb Solid State OS drive and Purple Data drive.
     
  8. AP-123

    AP-123 Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2016
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    11
    Tried Dell's May 2017 driver - no dice. Still high CPU.
     
  9. Zanthexter

    Zanthexter Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2016
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    26
    Right click on the start button, select device manager, find the display adapter, right click it, select update driver, then browse, then let me pick, then (at the botton) Microsoft Basic.

    After downgrading to that, run the Intel installer and it should work.
     
    AP-123 likes this.
  10. Jarrett

    Jarrett n3wb

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2017
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    1
    Is the problem hardware acceleration or should I use driver 4664?
     
  11. fenderman

    fenderman Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    30,245
    Likes Received:
    9,372
    the HA uses the driver, bad driver causes memory leak
     
  12. Jarrett

    Jarrett n3wb

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2017
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    1
    Is there a link to 4664 driver? When I go to the ftp site on the link I'm not seeing it
     
  13. Jarrett

    Jarrett n3wb

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2017
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    1
    i guess one thing i'm confused on is that the driver 4664 is for a intel hd graphics 620 but im on an intel nuc with iris 6100. does the 4664 driver also compatible with the iris 6100? when i visit intel for older drivers the 4664 doesnt show as an option.
     
  14. Jarrett

    Jarrett n3wb

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2017
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    1
    4664 driver is not compatible with intel iris 6100. does anyone have any idea of which driver to use for intel iris 6100 to stop this memory leak?
    also im using a i7-5557u processor in my nuc. which is a 5th gen broadwell.
     
    Last edited: Feb 8, 2018
  15. Jarrett

    Jarrett n3wb

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2017
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    1
    I went through one by one and installed and tested previous drivers for Intel iris 6100. None of them stopped the memory leak when using blue iris. Yes I used policies to stop the auto updating of the drivers. In the end I installed the latest version of blue iris from their website and the memory leak stopped as of last night when I installed the latest version of blue iris. Cup is currently at 40% memory usage at 3.4gb.
     
    pcunite likes this.
  16. LTek

    LTek Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2015
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    3
    HELP PLEASE... cant install the driver recommended in that thread:

    6th Generation (Skylake) / 7th Generation (Kaby Lake)
    Driver Version 15.45.18.4664 is known to be good: <15.45.18.4664: IntelĀ® Graphics Driver>

    When I try it says it is not validated for my computer. My computer is a 6th Gen i5, 530 GPU.
     
  17. fenderman

    fenderman Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    30,245
    Likes Received:
    9,372
    Did you do a clean install of Windows using the Microsoft media creation tool? If not many OEM versions of windows don't let you install drivers unless provided by the OEM....
     
  18. LTek

    LTek Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2015
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    3
    Yes, its a non-OEM version. I have a my own licenses

    I uninstalled all Intel drivers and then it let me install the 4664 driver.

    I'll post back if that fixes my problem.

    thx
     
    Last edited: Apr 7, 2018
  19. LTek

    LTek Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2015
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    3
    installing 4664 seems to keep the CPU under 60% and memory under 70%

    Odd to have a CPU / Memory bug in an Intel driver for a year and seems like only BI 'trips' the problem?

    I suspect the problem is something BI is doing - I hope BI fixes the issue so we can use recent, more enhanced, drivers.
     
  20. fenderman

    fenderman Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    30,245
    Likes Received:
    9,372
    google you will see that other software has this issue too...it is specific to h.264 decoding...its just that most packages dont offer quicksync h.264 decoding
    if you think its BI, why would you fail to email support and ask?