Craptastic Router Network Congestion

ChooChooman74

Getting the hang of it
Reaction score
I am looking for a little advice and probably trying to gain some knowledge. I am still fairly new in the IP Cam installation, having installed regular cameras back in the day. But, I have been tinkering with networks for a while. So, I had a customer install, where I installed 4 Starlights at 10FPS, a Zyxel 8 Port POE+ Switch, and a Dahua 4208-4KS2. The switch and NVR are separated, with a Cat 5E from the customer's Verizon FIOS router to the switch and connected the NVR to the Router. Nearly right away, customer complained of network congestion, not being able to view Netflix or Skype, but cleared up after unplugging the wire to the cameras. Went back, ran a 2nd wire back to the switch for the NVR, and that seems to work fine. Activity lights on the Zyxel show little activity to the router and constant activity to the 4 cams and the NVR. I would have thought that the switch in the router would be able to handle 4 2MP cams running at 10FPS. Has anyone else come across this issue?

fenderman

Staff member
Reaction score