Dahua cams on Hikvision NVR issues

dan514

n3wb
Reaction score
Hi all. I’m a noob to this site, and to network cameras in general, but have worked in IT and networking for years. I have a strange setup issue, and am hoping you can help me out.

We have a Hikvision DS-7716NI-SP/16 with three cameras that was configured by professionals a year or two ago. The (non-profit) community centre that I am helping out is moving to a bigger space. We received several cameras as a donation from a friend who lives in China. I am having difficulty getting theses new cameras to interface with the Hikvision.

The cameras are Dahua IPC-HFW5421EP-Z and IPC-HDBW5421EP-Z. (Interestingly, I can’t even find these models on Dahua’s North American site, must be region specific?)

The Hikvision cameras automatically configure with the Hikvision NVR. Their IP settings are 192.168.254.x, but their gateway IP is 192.168.1.1 – different subnet. I have figured out the settings for the Dahua cameras (only major change is using ONVIF on port 80, instead of 8000), but the Dahua config doesn’t allow me to set the gateway on a different subnet than the cameras’ IP – I’ve tried the web interface, the config tool, and a few others. Interestingly, if I connect the cameras to a separate PoE switch to which the the NVR is connected via its LAN port, and give the cameras an IP address on the same subnet as the LAN, the NVR sees and connects to them!

(I've gone through this thread three times, hoping to find relief, but no dice: How Do I Use A Dahua Camera With A Hikvision NVR?)

My goal is to keep all devices on same subnet or VLAN, my hunch being that keeping them “outside” on the LAN is more of a potential security issue.

Any advice on how to give these guys a gateway address on a different subnet? Or where to tell the Hikvision NVR what IP address to use for the gateway it’s providing to cameras on its own PoE switch?

Any help would be greatly appreciated! Thanks.

Last edited:

alastairstevenson