n3wb
Reaction score
Hi All,

I'm new to CCTV and recently purchased a set of Dahua CCTV cameras and an NVR
In Case it is of use I have the following
1 x NVR5216-16P-4KS2E
1 x IPC-HFW5241E-Z5E and
6 x IPC-T5442TM-AS

I had recently installed them and connected them directly to the NVR POE ports. I do not have the NVR connected to the Internet at all. Other than to reset my forgotten password.

I had pre-purchased some nice thin cables but when I put everything into the Server rack cabinet I realised that the cables were not long enough for placing the unit in the normal position so I placed it back the front. This seemed to work o.k for a while but to make everything neater I turned off the NVR and turned it around and used longer (temporary cables to neaten everything up while I get some more cables. Upon turning everything back on I can now only get images from 2 CCTV cameras. The rest give me an "invalid username or password error", I have not as far as I am aware touched a password on any of the CCTV cameras. All I can figure out is I plugged the cameras into different ports of the NVR unit.

Now that all cameras are installed (some in difficult to reach places), is there an easy way to reset these cameras? Will I have this problem again if I reset and then replace the Patch lead cables? This is make a lot of work for something that I cannot seem to understand why it would cause an error for swapping ports on the NVR.
Any suggestions or ideas on how to make getting everything back up and running easily would be appreciated. Although it is not easy I could probably reset the NVR, would that be the easiest option, or would that not work?

bigredfish

Known around here
Reaction score
...................Other than to reset my forgotten password.

The cameras plugged into the PoE ports will generally assume the same pass as the NVR.

Read here
***PSA for those with a New DAHUA NVR with Built-in PoE switch