Dedicated BI system. Lenovo Thinkserver ts140 (Xeon). -Storage WD Red or Purple?

Discussion in 'NVR's, DVR's & Computers' started by Lockdown, Mar 11, 2015.

Share This Page

  1. chupakbra

    chupakbra Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2015
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    I'm eyeballing this one but waiting until ComputerKing has it on sale again. It was sold out March 1st.
     
  2. Lockdown

    Lockdown n3wb

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2015
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    2
    Any tips on finding out the ME driver Firmware version Before purchase?

    Haswell refresh is showing some nice Passmark score improvements for less $ according to PassMark Intel vs AMD CPU Benchmarks - High End . Certainly not a deal breaker, would be nice upgrade path option though.
     
  3. chupakbra

    chupakbra Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2015
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    I have no idea, but if you find out, please let me know
     
  4. glenncol

    glenncol n3wb

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2014
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Cool thanks

    At what CPU usage?
     
  5. chupakbra

    chupakbra Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2015
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    100W for the PC when CPU is pegged at ~95%
     
  6. fenderman

    fenderman Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    30,993
    Likes Received:
    9,942
    The power consumption makes sense when the cpu is maxed like that..however, that system should not be pegging at 95 even with all cameras recording...not sure what the problem is though..
     
  7. chupakbra

    chupakbra Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2015
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    Right now, with no cameras triggered CPU is at 42%, mem 1.28G uptime 9days21hours50minutes. Version 4.0.1.14 according to BlueIris for iOS. BlueIris is minimized.
     
  8. fenderman

    fenderman Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    30,993
    Likes Received:
    9,942
    Aside from the blue iris ios, are you actively streaming to another device?
    What is the usage when blue iris is maximized and displaying the cams?
    Is there a monitor attached to the server or are you logging in remotely? if so what are you using?
     
  9. davesims

    davesims Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2014
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    1
    What is the power usage at 42%
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 19, 2015
  10. chupakbra

    chupakbra Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2015
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    iOS is the only device to which is streaming on demand.
    I haven't noticed any usage difference with BI maximized.
    There is a monitor attached through a KVM switch. I do not login remotely to the server.
     
  11. fenderman

    fenderman Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    30,993
    Likes Received:
    9,942
    There is generally a significant increase in cpu use when you maximize the program...
    Are you getting the cpu numbers from the resource manager or from the blue iris app?
     
  12. chupakbra

    chupakbra Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2015
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    I'm relying on the BlueIris app numbers for the CPU numbers.
     
  13. fenderman

    fenderman Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    30,993
    Likes Received:
    9,942
    confirm them with resource monitor...
     
  14. Lockdown

    Lockdown n3wb

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2015
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    2
    It's been a couple months and everything is working well. The Purple drives are doing fine and with 2 cams @3mp the cpu is about 11-13% in performance monitor. I need more cams and will probably get more of the same when I figure out the aux lighting.

    I'll be getting some auxiliary lighting this week. I'm thinking that will allow me to set the exposure time to at least 1/30 or faster and leave it there day/night and hopefully fewer bugs triggering motion.

    So far the TS 140 Xeon E3-1225 v3 has been a good deal. I ended up paying $284.0 for the TS 140 with no HDD.

    Thanks again for all the helpful advise :D
     
  15. corkangel76

    corkangel76 Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    May 11, 2015
    Messages:
    180
    Likes Received:
    17
    I would strongly suggest AGAINST the WD Purple drives. In the last couple of weeks my company has seen a glut of them returned for failures. (We are an IT Systems Company). I've had great success with the Seagate Surveillance drives, they are a lower price point, run a touch cooler and quieter IMHO and we haven't had a single one come back.
     
  16. Lockdown

    Lockdown n3wb

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2015
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    2
    I got it from Amazon I think it was Computer upgrade king. Looks like their price has gone up some and Amazon appears to be selling it direct for $319.0 now. It listed for $324.99 when I bought it. With my discount it came to ~$284.0

    According to my cheapo watt meter the TS140 70A4001LUX is drawing 37 watts @120 Volts.
     
  17. ttplayer4life

    ttplayer4life n3wb

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2015
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Looking at PCNVR for Hikvision cams. Saw this thread. While looking for hard drives, found this
    http://hdd.userbenchmark.com/Compare/WD-Purple-2TB-2014-vs-Toshiba-DT01ACA200-2TB/2662vs2736
    where it says Purple drives special firmware has to be activated for PC to be of any use.

    "The AllFrame technology however is only enabled when used in conjunction with a supported host controller, most of which are only found in dedicated NVR (Network Video Recording) devices. As a result there is no benefit in using this drive in a HTPC to record video streams, because the surveillance specific functions won't be enabled"
    Any comments from experienced users? Note benchmarks show much better performance for most of higher rpm drives.