Detecting wildlife with Dahua cameras

Mike A.

Known around here
Joined
May 6, 2017
Messages
2,472
Reaction score
3,401
Kind of expensive too @ $500 annual. If you already have Bi might as well just do DeepStack/SenseAI. And better integrated that way. But the Camect looks like a relatively easy plug-in vs going down the BI AI rabbit hole.
 
Last edited:

EvanVanVan

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Jul 29, 2022
Messages
78
Reaction score
51
Location
NJ
At the risk of being mock for my (probably) not optimal shutter speed and gain settings causing very, very minor ghosting (i still see it though lol), the bobcat was back last night!

T5442TM-AS 6mm @ 1440p..Just set this camera up last weekend, thank you for this thread, @tigerwillow1!

I love the IR lights on the house+through the woods lol

Although I'll also share the pics/video from last month. Check the trail cam pics, I'm convinced this beefy dude is a fucking Liger! lol
liger1.jpeg
liger2.jpeg
liger3.jpeg

Z4E, somehow was only exported as 1080p :confused:
 
Last edited:

jack7

Pulling my weight
Joined
Mar 21, 2019
Messages
306
Reaction score
198
Location
USA
Kind of expensive too @ $500 annual. If you already have Bi might as well just do DeepStack/SenseAI. And better integrated that way. But the Camect looks like a relatively easy plug-in vs going down the BI AI rabbit hole.
MIke A.,
A Camect hub does not cost $500 annually.
The website says it costs $399 which includes 2 months of service. Service primarily provides secure remote access to hub, and alerts. If additional service is not needed, there is no further cost. Continuing service is $10/mo, or $99/yr, etc.
 

Mike A.

Known around here
Joined
May 6, 2017
Messages
2,472
Reaction score
3,401
Sorry, I meant to purchase the hub with the annual plan it's $499. Looking quickly wasn't clear whether you need the service. Can you receive notifications in some other way without their service? Either way, still about the same cost as BI and server.
 

jack7

Pulling my weight
Joined
Mar 21, 2019
Messages
306
Reaction score
198
Location
USA
"Can you receive notifications in some other way without their service?"

2021 quote from Camect in forum:
Without Camect Go(Service), what you have is like having a local NVR ... It will still record and analyze your footage, and you can connect and review locally -- i.e. when you are at home, connected to the same network that your hub is on, you can review alerts, view footage, etc. The main missing features would be the ability to view cameras when you're away from home, and the ability to have alerts delivered somewhere, e.g. via email or via telegram.
 

Mike A.

Known around here
Joined
May 6, 2017
Messages
2,472
Reaction score
3,401
So, if I have it right, you can go in and review whatever alerts may be set but without their service it doesn't actively send a notification to you in some way when there is an alert. Is that locally too? Remote access/viewing without the service would be easy to solve with a VPN. Notifications harder.
 

jack7

Pulling my weight
Joined
Mar 21, 2019
Messages
306
Reaction score
198
Location
USA
So, if I have it right, you can go in and review whatever alerts may be set but without their service it doesn't actively send a notification to you in some way when there is an alert. Is that locally too? Remote access/viewing without the service would be easy to solve with a VPN. Notifications harder.
I think that would best be answered by a question at camect.com/contact, or at the camect forum. They are quite responsive. I have the service.
There is Camect API with some implementations available but I have not used it.
 

Don't Look Up

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Aug 18, 2022
Messages
111
Reaction score
57
Location
Ohio
Never felt the need for the "Service", and there's an app for viewing from your phone (Camect Viewer for iOS), not sure about Android apps.
 

jack7

Pulling my weight
Joined
Mar 21, 2019
Messages
306
Reaction score
198
Location
USA
Never felt the need for the "Service", and there's an app for viewing from your phone (Camect Viewer for iOS), not sure about Android apps.
Camect Viewer for ios and android are still being developed and has lower function than the browser iimplementation at this time..
Are you able to use IOS Camect Viewer without the "service", locally or remotely?
 

Don't Look Up

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Aug 18, 2022
Messages
111
Reaction score
57
Location
Ohio
Camect Viewer for ios and android are still being developed and has lower function than the browser iimplementation at this time..
Are you able to use IOS Camect Viewer without the "service", locally or remotely?
Yes, locally on my WiFi, and cellular if I'm out.
 

jack7

Pulling my weight
Joined
Mar 21, 2019
Messages
306
Reaction score
198
Location
USA
Never felt the need for the "Service", and there's an app for viewing from your phone (Camect Viewer for iOS), not sure about Android apps.
I contacted Camect and they said Camect Go(the "service") is required to use Camect Viewer with IOS or android, remote and local. The PWA or Web UI does not require Camect Go for local access.
@Don't Look Up, you may have the "Service" and not know it.

@tigerwillow1
Sorry, I will stop posting on your thread about Camect, unless I'm asked a question.
 

Don't Look Up

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Aug 18, 2022
Messages
111
Reaction score
57
Location
Ohio
I contacted Camect and they said Camect Go(the "service") is required to use Camect Viewer with IOS or android, remote and local. The PWA or Web UI does not require Camect Go for local access.
@Don't Look Up, you may have the "Service" and not know it.

@tigerwillow1
Sorry, I will stop posting on your thread about Camect, unless I'm asked a question.
 

Don't Look Up

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Aug 18, 2022
Messages
111
Reaction score
57
Location
Ohio
I'm pretty sure I just paid for the base Camect at $400.00. Didn't pay for anything extra, Service wise. Never got billed for any recurrent fees either. All I can say is that the Camect Viewer app works for me when way from the "Fort" to take a quick look to see if all is peaceful. Don't use anything more than that with the App. I'm sure its not "Luck" and they accidentally gave me the Full Monty.... My "luck" is such that if I won the Lottery...they'd send me a bill :_(.
 

EvanVanVan

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Jul 29, 2022
Messages
78
Reaction score
51
Location
NJ
For the Z12E: If the lack of SMD does indeed mean it will detect animals, I also found this firmware (AI 4.0 latest new firmware DH_IPC-HX5XXX-Volt_MultiLang_PN_Stream3_V2.800.0000000.0.R.190521.zip) that successfully flashed on the HFW5241E-Z12E and doesn't include SMD (again still waiting on animals to show up to confirm it lol). I think this firmware would also work on the Z4E but that camera is out of service until my 16 port PoE switch arrives.
I've got some good news, was successful detecting a fox using IVS triggers on the WizMind Z4E. Just got this camera up and running and flashed with this FW this evening and within minutes got an alert! (Albeit DS cancelled it for obvious reasons.) As I mentioned in my last post, this firmware also successfully flashed on a Z12E, so I assume it also will eventually work there too, that camera just gets less animal activity.

I'm sharing the video mostly to show how bad the visibility actually was, so it's pretty impressive it detected the fox! This camera gets very dark, so I have to jack the shutter speed and picture settings. Also doesn't help the pond is frozen and causing the IR reflection from the other T5442TM-AS camera (which actually got a pretty good shot of the fox, and DS still cancelled lol).

external.jpg
IVS.jpg
version.png
 
Last edited:
Top