DMSS and it's bugs - it drives me crazy!

istyle0978

n3wb
Joined
Jan 23, 2021
Messages
23
Reaction score
1
Location
Los Angeles, California
@istyle0978

are you using account mode and/or p2p cloud ?

please add the camera as local network (ip/domain) and try on this added device !
Ok, I'm going to give this a try later. I'm not really sure what the difference is between account and p2p cloud mode. I do have an account that I use to login to DSMM. Once signed in, my cameras will show in the app.
 

user8963

Getting comfortable
Joined
Nov 26, 2018
Messages
778
Reaction score
904
Location
Christmas Island
yeah... that may be the cause of your problem.

remove the app and all data, install again , dont create an account or log in

just click on "add device" -> "ip/domain" > use your local ip of the camera (should be 192.xxxx or 10.xxxx)

(you must be on the same network as the camera i.e. wifi and know the local ip of the camera in your network)

then try ... if it works, you have to start from scratch with VPN etc ;)
 

Holbs

Known around here
Joined
May 1, 2019
Messages
1,624
Reaction score
2,143
Location
Reno, NV
@istyle0978

are you using account mode and/or p2p cloud ?

please add the camera as local network (ip/domain) and try on this added device !
That is a good question for him. For reference I am not using PTP. My entire setup is manual through VPN.
 

istyle0978

n3wb
Joined
Jan 23, 2021
Messages
23
Reaction score
1
Location
Los Angeles, California
@istyle0978

first TRY if you can use the missing functions with IP/Domain device ...

then you can continue. you dont need any vpn/portforwarding whatever for trying on local network
It worked!! You guys are awesome!

Hi guess now comes the hard part of setting on VPN so the cam can be controlled when away from home?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 

Holbs

Known around here
Joined
May 1, 2019
Messages
1,624
Reaction score
2,143
Location
Reno, NV
It worked!! You guys are awesome!

Hi guess now comes the hard part of setting on VPN so the cam can be controlled when away from home?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
yes. with my PTZ, I can manually rotate it by moving the ball that is in the center of the arrow, left or right or wherever and the PTZ rotates and can zoom in/out. Can also select pre-selected presets.
 

Holbs

Known around here
Joined
May 1, 2019
Messages
1,624
Reaction score
2,143
Location
Reno, NV
Just realized the Google Wifi does not support VPN. Man, bummer. I need to either piggy back a secondary router or replace the Google Wifi. Just my luck.... but on the flip side, thank you guys @Holbs @user8963 for helping.
Hmm.... Google cellular WiFi "should" support VPN. I just recently swapped from Google Fi cellular service to Charter Spectrum cellular service. Back when I had a Pixel 3 on Google Fi cellular service, I could use my UDM RADIUS VPN server (though, it timed out after so many seconds to a hardware bug in the Pixel 3).
 

Holbs

Known around here
Joined
May 1, 2019
Messages
1,624
Reaction score
2,143
Location
Reno, NV
Thanks. I meant Google Wifi router, not Google Fi internet. the ISP we use is Frontier. thanks though.
oh yes...Frontier. Have bumped into them in northern NV. Good luck with that :)
Are you saying a this specific router does not handle VPN at all?
 
Top