DS-2CD2142FWD-IS won't connect from afar

Ken B

n3wb
Reaction score
First off, I'm new to this IP camera thing. I feel I know enough to get things done, but not enough to solve problems when they arise.

I bought the camera and NVR models recommended by my local dealer who designed a package for me. I'm doing everything myself due to budget constraints.

I have a HIKVision DS-7608NI-E2/8P NVR (PoE) and installed a 3TB HDD. I loaded the latest firmware from the manufacturer's website with no problems. I have a HIKVision 2CD2142FWD-IS camera I'm connecting to. I'm using a high grade CAT6 shielded cable and crimping my own high quality connectors intended for CAT6 cable. When I bench tested these two products together (about 2' apart) they synced easily and quickly. I then ran approximately 90 feet of cable, crimped connectors to each end, and discovered the two devices don't fully communicate. No matter which NVR PoE port I'm plugged into, it occasionally blinks/flashes (whereas before it was lit solid). The camera is receiving some power, but doesn't boot up the same as when bench tested. On power up, instead of the IR lights coming on fully, they appear dim and flash for awhile. The camera's internal green light blinks occasionally (whereas before it seemed to blink non-stop). When it got dark outside, the IR lights came on, appearing to look like normal operation. But, I can't get it to show up in the NVR software. I thought maybe the connectors I made were faulty, so I carefully remade one end (no change), then the other end (no change). I brought the camera back to bench test with the NVR and they both connected just fine.