DVR 7616HI-ST - Admin password

Reaction score
Morning everyone - I am brand new to the CCTV world and reaching out to this forum out of frustration.

I bought a second hand DVR 7616HI-ST and 6 new DS-2CD2022WD-I camera, cable, network switch.

During my "struggle" to activate the ip cameras, I started to experience password issues.

I then decided to reset all passwords but unfortunately I did not select the factory reset (it was the one above the factory reset option.)

After I reset the passwords, I noticed the Admin password is not 12345 anymore resulted in I cannot access the menu anymore.

I googled for options and found that I can send my serial number (1620150604BBRR522050821WCVU) to Hikvision technical support and then they will send me a secure code. I did this but is still awaiting any response.

Do anyone of you guys have access the a secure code generator to generate a code for me?

Is there an option to "hard reset" the DVR 7616HI-ST - by removing the backup battery, restart DVR 7616HI-ST, and put the battery back - in other words to reset the cmos info manually.

I appreciate your responses.

Last edited:

alastairstevenson

Staff member
Reaction score
I'm not sure about that specific DVR - but for other Hikvision devices, especially cameras, the default passwords vary with the firmware version, going from
12345 to 123456789abc then requiring 'Activation', in other words the device will not respond normally until you submit your own strong password.
It may be worth checking what the SADP tool says of the DVR status : Hangzhou Hikvision Digital Technology Co. Ltd.

Reaction score
I'm not sure about that specific DVR - but for other Hikvision devices, especially cameras, the default passwords vary with the firmware version, going from
12345 to 123456789abc then requiring 'Activation', in other words the device will not respond normally until you submit your own strong password.