Evtevision NVR ftp, ssh

soyrunner

Young grasshopper
Joined
Feb 6, 2020
Messages
31
Reaction score
4
Location
Georgia
Okay, I'm new to NVR's. I have 4 cameras and 3 ftp their alarms to an RPI but the 4th couldn't so I bought an Evtevision NVR. And it works, the one camera without ftp capability is recording.

My problem is that rather than fight with the NVR software, I have the 3 other cameras recording alarms just fine and would like to ftp their alarms to the NVR instead of the RPI.

The Evtevision NVR refuses ssh, telnet and ftp. Of course I can see it has port 22 closed so it won't accept ssh on that port, has port 21 closed so it won't accept ftp on that port, and has port 23 closed so it can't accept telnet on that port. It's screen says it has port 554 open for media and port 80 open for http. However nmap shows it does have port 554 open for rtsp but the port it has open for http is port 90. It also has port 8180 open.

ssh to port 90 gets 'connection error'; ssh to 8180 gets 'Server unexpected closed network connection.', ssh to 554 gets no response and hangs putty. Correction, checking if the port 90 was accurate I piped nmap to grep 90 and no, that port wasn't shown. Running nmap again it shows port 80 so it was likely a dead pixel on the old laptop.

So, is there any way I can ftp alarms into the NVR? It does have a 15 pin D connector port.

Thanks.

soyrunner
 

soyrunner

Young grasshopper
Joined
Feb 6, 2020
Messages
31
Reaction score
4
Location
Georgia
I see the db15 is for a VGA. I have activated ftp for alarms and tested. Tested works to the RPI but the port is said to only be open when transfers are taking place. Ran nmap after the test and port 21 is closed.
 

soyrunner

Young grasshopper
Joined
Feb 6, 2020
Messages
31
Reaction score
4
Location
Georgia
So, wondering if other NVRs allow files to be uploaded rather than just exporting. Looking at Bue Iris, I see this post: "How does Blue Iris handle FTP access?" and it too appears to only have ftp export and isn't open for import. This is a disappointment as I put a brand new 2TB drive in the Evetvision and the RPI probably only has a 32GB card.
 

soyrunner

Young grasshopper
Joined
Feb 6, 2020
Messages
31
Reaction score
4
Location
Georgia
Perhaps no ftp import is a security feature. So, this NVR isn't filling my needs. Going to retire a computer later this year. The Evtevision DVR has a rather small board, larger than an RPI but then the RPI needs a power supply. Haven't tried the codec to play h265 videos on Win10. Rolling my own NVR might be the way to go. Might still need the Evtevision to monitor the one camera without ftp.
 

soyrunner

Young grasshopper
Joined
Feb 6, 2020
Messages
31
Reaction score
4
Location
Georgia
Thank you Alastair. I saved the link and files. I've wanted to get into one of these cameras and look around at their operating system. Perhaps the next rainy day.
 

soyrunner

Young grasshopper
Joined
Feb 6, 2020
Messages
31
Reaction score
4
Location
Georgia
So, looking at the EvTevision ftp of alarms I have it set up to send to the RPI. What I'm getting on the RPI are files buried 4 directories deep with a file name ending in ].h264' Problem is that when I go to zip the contents the linux zip fails to a > prompt. Also there's an @ symbol in the filename. I'm trying to zip these to send to a Win10 machine after which I'll attempt to view with the h265 codec. I note that humanoid detection on the cameras isn't great and I have cats and chickens that trigger motion detection.
-----------------
Okay, not a big problem. Since there were only those files in those directories, zip -jr cam1.date.zip ./cam1/* && rm -rd ./cam1/* got it done.
 
Last edited:

soyrunner

Young grasshopper
Joined
Feb 6, 2020
Messages
31
Reaction score
4
Location
Georgia
This EvTevsion NVR is disappointing me again. The one camera it's recording, SV3C Series A which has no sdcard nor ftp capability, which I have recording with CBR in order to view with a WDTV Live box to my TV, this after conditioning with ffmpeg, won't set its recording to CBR and it VBR fails on the WDTV Live box although will play on Windows. Also, it's recording a huge number of alarms even tho I set it to lower sensitivity. Processing its .h264 previous day files takes hours. The NVR shows the CBR recording option but after it is set and I close the page, upon looking the page again it's back to VBR. It had been showing setting for H.265 or H.265X but now only shows H.265X. Suggestions please other than trashing or replacing.
 

soyrunner

Young grasshopper
Joined
Feb 6, 2020
Messages
31
Reaction score
4
Location
Georgia
Okay, good news. I have the SV3C Series A camera's video playing on the WDTV. I thought the problem was that the EvTevision would only record in VBR. I have two other cameras, Series HX, recording to the the RPI ftp server at a Maximum Frame Rate of 10 FPS with a Key Frame Rate of 40 and CBR. This has the video playing faster. I had been having the Series A camera recording at normal speed with its default Key Frame Rate. I've now duplicated the settings matching the others to have it run faster as well and even though the NVR records in VBR, it seems to allow the CBR and the later conditioned video plays on Windows as well as the WDTV. I've run into another problem though and it's been going on for a while. I use ffmpeg to concatenate each camera's .mp4 into a single video. I've been leaving out the Series A video to play separately as it would kill the concatenated file on the WDTV. But, although the newer of the two HX cameras plays back fine, the slightly older is failing. The background gets lost and the concatenated video freezes while the camera's video plays okay. So, on the WDTV I can put the three videos and play the folder. I suspect something about the Key Frame Rate gets lost when I concatenate with ffmpeg on Win10. My best camera, recording through a window until I find the time to mount it, is only taking snaps.
 

soyrunner

Young grasshopper
Joined
Feb 6, 2020
Messages
31
Reaction score
4
Location
Georgia
So, I'm reading email and getting ready to condition the videos when I hear the main roo making noises that sound strange. I pop up the 4 screen monitor and see a huge German Shepherd trotting in the inner yard. I run out. I know the dog. He belongs to a neighbor who's beagle years ago killed some chickens, I suspect deliberately released while his father was at a local yearly rodeo. This after I asked he not race an ATV near the fence near the chicken coop as it scares the hens and they stop laying. Today, chickens and roo running for the trees and I call over the big lanky dog. Slapping my leg I get him to follow me out the inner yard and shut the gate. There are two ways the dog can get in the yard if free: a) at a stream head where the fence washes away or b) anywhere over the fence as he's the size of a small deer. I walk the dog out the outer gate up on the road and down the road to his drive. I hear the son I think on a tractor mowing his inner yard inside a greenbelt of trees calling the dog. The dog is heading away around the corner but I call him and he heads back and up his drive. I search and only 1 bird is missing, the oldest, a roo but then he turned up healthy. When I condition the videos I'll get a screen grab of the dog moving toward the chickens and post on FB.
 

soyrunner

Young grasshopper
Joined
Feb 6, 2020
Messages
31
Reaction score
4
Location
Georgia
My reducing sensitivity to reduce video of spiders weaving webs or a moving leaf on a web tendril resulted in the German Shepherd appearing first well into the inner yard behind the truck and mobile home. He's at half point then bolts out of camera range. Then a year old cat I call Chaps flies from the roof of a canopy under which is my car and soon the dog is in pursuit. Cat goes to the east and behind the coop with the dog on its heels. Exits west of the coop with the dog following but a decent distance behind. They both head out the inner yard and later the dog saunters back in the yard and was moving toward the noisy birds when I entered the area. I have the scene on the Evtevision NVR. I stop the playback at the point the dog appears and start editing, start again until both exit the screen out of the inner yard and stop editing. But there seems to be no way to save the edit. I can take the mp4 and run it through VLC, if it plays, and get the cut but I'd like to know how to get it from the NVR.
 
Top