Ezviz DB1C sharing problem and how to find IP address?

itm

Getting the hang of it
Joined
May 1, 2017
Messages
133
Reaction score
21
Location
Greater London, UK
I’ve just installed a new Ezviz DB1C video doorbell. I have it up and running on my Android phone (Motorola Moto G 5G), and would like to share it with my wife so that she can get full access to the doorbell’s features from her phone.
I have installed the Ezviz app on my wife’s phone (a Pixel 3a) and created a new Ezviz account for her. When I try to use the Share option in the app on my phone to share with my wife’s email address or phone number (selecting all sharing options) I get a message saying “Sharing failed”. I’ve tried this several times but keep getting the same error.
Can anyone advise on what I can try?

Also, I'd like to get the doorbell connected to my Blue Iris setup, but can't see an obvious way of finding the doorbell's IP address. Has anyone got any hints for finding it?
 

David L

IPCT Contributor
Joined
Aug 2, 2019
Messages
3,583
Reaction score
6,963
Location
USA
I’ve just installed a new Ezviz DB1C video doorbell. I have it up and running on my Android phone (Motorola Moto G 5G), and would like to share it with my wife so that she can get full access to the doorbell’s features from her phone.
I have installed the Ezviz app on my wife’s phone (a Pixel 3a) and created a new Ezviz account for her. When I try to use the Share option in the app on my phone to share with my wife’s email address or phone number (selecting all sharing options) I get a message saying “Sharing failed”. I’ve tried this several times but keep getting the same error.
Can anyone advise on what I can try?

Also, I'd like to get the doorbell connected to my Blue Iris setup, but can't see an obvious way of finding the doorbell's IP address. Has anyone got any hints for finding it?
In your Router look for the MAC address from your Doorbell and you will see which IP was assigned to it via DHCP.
 

itm

Getting the hang of it
Joined
May 1, 2017
Messages
133
Reaction score
21
Location
Greater London, UK
Thanks - I got there by trial and error in the end! No luck getting an RTSP stream though - I've posted a question in the DB1C review thread about that :0(
 

TonyR

IPCT Contributor
Joined
Jul 15, 2014
Messages
7,594
Reaction score
11,411
Location
Alabama
Thanks - I got there by trial and error in the end! No luck getting an RTSP stream though - I've posted a question in the DB1C review thread about that :0(
@flynreelow said here in Dec. of 2020:

MAIN --- r t s p:/admin:<Enter password>@<Enter IP Address>:554/Streaming/Channels/101 (ignore the spaces)​
SUB Stream --- r t s p:/admin:<Enter password>@<Enter IP Address>:554/Streaming/Channels/102 (ignore the spaces)​

And @silencery posted what BI pulled in automatically here.
 

flynreelow

Getting comfortable
Joined
Dec 12, 2016
Messages
698
Reaction score
391
this is the RTSP for the new DB1C. Works fine in VLC and Tivimate.

rt sp:/admin : paSSword@192.168.1.41/?1 --> sub your ip address, and the password (ignore the spaces)
 

itm

Getting the hang of it
Joined
May 1, 2017
Messages
133
Reaction score
21
Location
Greater London, UK
this is the RTSP for the new DB1C. Works fine in VLC and Tivimate.

rt sp:/admin : paSSword@192.168.1.41/?1 --> sub your ip address, and the password (ignore the spaces)
Thanks - that works fine. I think my problem was that I discovered a bug in the Ezviz software: if you change the encryption password in the app you are not able to use the new password to access the RTSP stream. This may be because the new password MUST contain at least one upper case, one lower case, one numeric and one special character, whereas the factory password contains 6 alphabetic characters (which actually breaks the password rules of the app).
The factory password works fine and allows to to access the RTSP stream.
 

flynreelow

Getting comfortable
Joined
Dec 12, 2016
Messages
698
Reaction score
391
Thanks - that works fine. I think my problem was that I discovered a bug in the Ezviz software: if you change the encryption password in the app you are not able to use the new password to access the RTSP stream. This may be because the new password MUST contain at least one upper case, one lower case, one numeric and one special character, whereas the factory password contains 6 alphabetic characters (which actually breaks the password rules of the app).
The factory password works fine and allows to to access the RTSP stream.

yes, dont ever mess with the passwords on these cloud based cameras. really can screw things up in the long run.
 

itm

Getting the hang of it
Joined
May 1, 2017
Messages
133
Reaction score
21
Location
Greater London, UK
yes, dont ever mess with the passwords on these cloud based cameras. really can screw things up in the long run.
I just instinctively change default passwords for security reasons.
It does make you wonder why they allow they allow the encryption password to be changed, if it breaks the RTSP stream (not to mention the fact that the default password doesn't actually comply with the app's password rules ?!)
 

David L

IPCT Contributor
Joined
Aug 2, 2019
Messages
3,583
Reaction score
6,963
Location
USA
I just instinctively change default passwords for security reasons.
It does make you wonder why they allow they allow the encryption password to be changed, if it breaks the RTSP stream (not to mention the fact that the default password doesn't actually comply with the app's password rules ?!)
On the DB1 there are two passwords, well only one on the Doorbell (Verification Code) and one for EZVIZ App cloud service. RTSP needs the Doorbell's (6 digit) password not the cloud service p/w.
 
Top