Fairly new to ip cams...advice requested please. Thanks!

Amy

n3wb
Reaction score
Hi,

I'm fairly new to ip cams- although I've had some foscams around for a few years. I've never managed to get them to record, etc- mainly used them to monitor the kids rooms, front door, etc. throughout the day. My foscams are finally beginning to kick the bucket and I'm looking to get a wired system. I've searched and searched and read a lot on these forums. I think I've settled on one system but wanted some advice. Has anyone used this Lorex? 2K IP Security Camera System with 8 Channel NVR and 8 HD Outdoor 4MP Cameras, 130ft night vision

Is this a decent deal. With the discount they are currently running, it comes to about $586 for the whole system.

Thanks for any input!

mat200

IPCT Contributor
Reaction score
Hi,

I'm fairly new to ip cams- although I've had some foscams around for a few years. I've never managed to get them to record, etc- mainly used them to monitor the kids rooms, front door, etc. throughout the day. My foscams are finally beginning to kick the bucket and I'm looking to get a wired system. I've searched and searched and read a lot on these forums. I think I've settled on one system but wanted some advice. Has anyone used this Lorex? 2K IP Security Camera System with 8 Channel NVR and 8 HD Outdoor 4MP Cameras, 130ft night vision

Is this a decent deal. With the discount they are currently running, it comes to about $586 for the whole system.

Thanks for any input!
Welcome Amy,

I'm certain that kit will do significantly better than the older cameras you have.

If you are not in a hurry to replace the cameras and can take some time: I would highly recommend reviewing what your functional goals are as often just buying something on sale may not fully meet your needs.

Example - Think about buying a car on sale, there's always more functional needs to consider - mpg, no of passengers, costs, reliability, off road, ..