Gaps in recording - need help!

Discussion in 'Blue Iris' started by rmanTX, Sep 2, 2019.

Share This Page

  1. rmanTX

    rmanTX Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2017
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    8
    I recently noticed my app (ios and android) were having a hard time connecting, displaying clips, displaying live, etc. I checked my PC and noticed gaps in my recordings. Average 3-5 minutes and on and off for hours, some gaps were hours long. The multiple gaps were causing BI to write new files, and my 240GB SSD would run out of room within a day or two. Instead of 1 clip per cam on each day, I was getting hundreds per cam
    This started happening around the same time I upgraded to BI5.

    Downgraded to BI4, cleared out my clips that dated back to around the BI5 install, and all. seemed good.

    Today (2 or 3 days later) it's happening again, with BI4. Cleared out the SSD and already got a gap within 5 minutes of rebuilding the DB.

    Tried to look at logs, and it says file cannot be found.

    9 POE cams
    i7-7700
    16gb ram
    240gb ssd
    8tb hdd

    System has been running flawlessly for about a year now until this happened. [​IMG]

    Sent from my SM-N960U using Tapatalk
     
  2. SouthernYankee

    SouthernYankee IPCT Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2018
    Messages:
    1,967
    Likes Received:
    1,133
    Location:
    Houston Tx
    1) are you writing direct to disk ?
    2) how big are the files ?
    3) provide a screen shot of the status (three bars botton) clip storage. (if there is anyy red that is your problem.
    4) provide screen shot of the system (gear button) clips and archiving for NEW, STORD, ALERTS, AUX1 (four screen shots)
    5) what is your frame rate ?


    1) I would recommend setting the combine/cut time to 1 hour, small files are easier for the OS to handle.
    2) Only allocate up to 90% of the a drives available space to BI. Bigger drives (+4TB) you cam allocate 95%.
     
    TL1096r likes this.
  3. rmanTX

    rmanTX Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2017
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    8
    I'll grab some pics in the morning. Yes there was red, the 100 clips per cam per day took up considerably more space than the 1 clip per cam per day.

    And yes, direct to disk.

    It's not red anymore since I cleared out all the recent clips.

    What's odd is it had been running flawless for months, maybe a year.

    Sent from my SM-N960U using Tapatalk
     
  4. DDDRelic

    DDDRelic n3wb

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2017
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    7
    I had a similar problem. Running win 10 and newly upgraded BI5 OK, then not long ago there was a win10 update pending.
    I allowed it to update and later that day noticed short gaps in the recordings.
    While working on a PC alongside I noticed the BI machine rebooting and this is what caused a gap in the recordings.
    Reverted to a restore point before the win10 update (which was also BI4), and it is OK again.
    Sitting on BI4 until I get back from holiday, then I will try to see if it was win10 update, BI5 or BI5+win10 upgrade issue.
     
  5. rmanTX

    rmanTX Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2017
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    8
    interesting. I looked over the dates, and my issue started 6 days after upgrading to BI5

    I downgraded to BI4 about 3 days ago, and the problem persists.

    Someone had suspected a bad stick of RAM, memtest found no issues. Going to check my logs in the morning and if the problem is still there, I may run the Windows Performance Recorder to see if any performance issues are triggering the gaps.

    The odd thing, when I restarted, ran memtest, and restarted again, there are no gaps in the recordings for those 5-10 minutes.

    Sent from my SM-N960U using Tapatalk