Garage Door Automation

Discussion in 'Home Automation' started by cryptelli, Apr 1, 2017.

Share This Page

  1. brad2388

    brad2388 Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2016
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    2
    How do you see when its open and closed? Alerts?


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  2. hmjgriffon

    hmjgriffon Known around here

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2014
    Messages:
    3,324
    Likes Received:
    922
    Location:
    North Florida
    eh? his android app showed the garage cam feed.
     
  3. brad2388

    brad2388 Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2016
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    2
    So how would one control the garage with the phone?


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  4. Go3Team

    Go3Team Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2017
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    23
    Location:
    RVA
    I don't have the phone set up anymore. When I did, and the right password was entered you could press "1" to open or shut the door. I had set it up that way in case we were away and for whatever reason, someone needed in.
     

    Attached Files:

  5. brad2388

    brad2388 Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2016
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    2
    How do u have it now? Id like to be able to control our two doors as well.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  6. Go3Team

    Go3Team Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2017
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    23
    Location:
    RVA
    We had to replace the opener, and the old way to open the door didn't work any more as the new opener uses some kind of serial connection at the switch. I bought this:

    Chamberlain / LiftMaster CIGBU Internet Gateway for MyQ Technology Enabled Garage Door Openers - Garage Door Hardware - Amazon.com

    It interfaces great with Openhab which is what I use for home automation.
     
    hmjgriffon likes this.
  7. hmjgriffon

    hmjgriffon Known around here

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2014
    Messages:
    3,324
    Likes Received:
    922
    Location:
    North Florida
    I was looking at OpenHAB, did you compare it with domoticz and others? what did you think? what kind of scripting does it use, can I use similar lua scripts?
     
  8. Go3Team

    Go3Team Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2017
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    23
    Location:
    RVA
    The only other one I've used is Home Assistant. I use both Openhab and HA at the same time. I only use HA for the integrated Google TTS which can be used to announce things on my Google Home / Chromecast.
     
    hmjgriffon likes this.
  9. Dingus

    Dingus n3wb

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2017
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    10
    I went with Open Garage, but haven't fully implemented remote monitoring/alerting yet. I plan on going with a VPN or IFTTT setup. I liked that it's essentially a remote relay switch and can be used on any opener going forward. You can even wire it to a remote so you don't have to have it mounted right next to the opener on the ceiling.
    Installation was easy. The niftiest thing was the auto close or alert after X minutes Open option. I can roll my own cloud and not have something go belly up/breached down the road.

    20170314_202827.jpg
     
  10. cryptelli

    cryptelli Pulling my weight

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2017
    Messages:
    310
    Likes Received:
    242
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Nice! Its straight forward nature is what attracted me to it. I plan on doing a write up of my installation but I opted to not use any cloud integration control it all over my VPN using Tasker on my mobile.

    While I would like to take advantage of that feature, without some type of check to ensure nothing was underneath the door before closing I wouldn't feel comfortable using it. However your situation my be different and it is nifty!
     
  11. Go3Team

    Go3Team Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2017
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    23
    Location:
    RVA
    Ours has it's own built in sensors that won't allow it to close if there's something in the way. If the sensors somehow don't catch something in the way, the moment the door feels resistance, it goes back up.
     
  12. randytsuch

    randytsuch Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2016
    Messages:
    342
    Likes Received:
    88
    Our opener has IR transmitter on one side, receiver on the other. Won't close if anything blocks the path. I thought this was on all openers for a long time. I just had to replace mine because the old one was acting up.