Hell Yeah! Direct Deepstack Integration - 5.4.0 - March 31, 2021

Joined
Dec 28, 2019
Messages
5,420
Reaction score
10,962
Location
New Jersey
From what I can see the night problem is a contrast problem. Things remain fairly reliable until after sundown. Then, as the remaining sunlight wanes, so does detection. Once the headlights come on it can't see a car if it gets run over by one due to headlight bloom/glare I guess. What vexes me the most is that even with a broadside view at night the detection drops to .01% with only a rare car being detected. It kind of renders night time usefulness in less than optimal conditions not worth the trouble.
 

Ssayer

BIT Beta Team
Joined
Jan 5, 2016
Messages
4,960
Reaction score
14,826
Location
SE Michigan USA
Ok, I got his reply back, and of course, he is ahead of me. :p

"You should be able to tie AI settings to profiles. Setup a day and night profile, enable a schedule, and then only enable the DS processing for the daytime."

Already tried it and it works. I've got Profile 1 set to Daytime and Profile 2 set to nighttime. Under settings, go to Schedule and set Profile 1 and Profile 2 hours. Finally, in each camera that you want, turn on Deepstack during Profile 1 and turn it off in Profile 2. Now Deepstack is on during the day and off at night.

That'll work until such time as Deepstack gets better.

He's also asked me for images that Deepstack didn't figure out, so I sent a couple of obvious examples.
 

IAmATeaf

Known around here
Joined
Jan 13, 2019
Messages
2,210
Reaction score
1,493
Location
United Kingdom
From what I can see the night problem is a contrast problem. Things remain fairly reliable until after sundown. Then, as the remaining sunlight wanes, so does detection. Once the headlights come on it can't see a car if it gets run over by one due to headlight bloom/glare I guess. What vexes me the most is that even with a broadside view at night the detection drops to .01% with only a rare car being detected. It kind of renders night time usefulness in less than optimal conditions not worth the trouble.
So I assume that BI does trigger and send the image to DS but DS then fails to detect or is your problem at night that BI fails to trigger?
 
Joined
Dec 28, 2019
Messages
5,420
Reaction score
10,962
Location
New Jersey
^^^ What @Ssayer said. BI detects, DS say "nothing found" with vehicles, people and animals. We had some deer come by and I thought DS would identify them as a dog, but "nothing detected". That doesn't count say 100 cars passing cars viewed on three cameras over night and getting "nothing detected". Semi-reliable detection stops just after sundown and starts again just before dawn when there's enough light for some color and contrast.
 
Joined
Oct 16, 2018
Messages
697
Reaction score
1,546
Location
USA
While I realize my solution for nighttime DS won’t work for everyone, I set our outside lights at a level where our 5231’s can operate in color only. When someone is detected, the lights ramp up to 100% which can also be a deterrent to a criminal or a welcome to a visitor.

I’ve estimated the extra electricity cost is $20/year. I also have solar charging exterior lights on our fences.

329B7A6E-1E6D-4644-B9CB-AE9E9565096A.jpeg
 
Joined
Dec 28, 2019
Messages
5,420
Reaction score
10,962
Location
New Jersey
I don't know how big your yard is, but our front yard is about 150x250. Putting enough light on that would cost more than $20/year and make the place look like Stalag 13. Plus I'd need a Ditch Witch to bury all the conduit and that would need a survey to get the buried fiber optic marked out. Oh yeah, then the cost of the lights and poles to put them on.
 
Last edited:

IAmATeaf

Known around here
Joined
Jan 13, 2019
Messages
2,210
Reaction score
1,493
Location
United Kingdom
^^^ What @Ssayer said. BI detects, DS say "nothing found" with vehicles, people and animals. We had some deer come by and I thought DS would identify them as a dog, but "nothing detected". That doesn't count say 100 cars passing cars viewed on three cameras over night and getting "nothing detected". Semi-reliable detection stops just after sundown and starts again just before dawn when there's enough light for some color and contrast.
This was exactly the reason I abandoned using AITools, during the day things were spot on but during the night, the contrast of the b/w snapshot and probably the angles meant I’d get nothing.
 

RootOfEvil

n3wb
Joined
May 11, 2017
Messages
2
Reaction score
0
When I have a lot of wind I cannot get the Deepstack integration to be called since the breaktime always allows for the trigger to be reset. After a max of 30 seconds the Deepstack is no longer called but the trigger is still active.

Does anyone know of a workaround for this?
 

eeeeesh

BIT Beta Team
Joined
Jan 5, 2017
Messages
290
Reaction score
449
While I realize my solution for nighttime DS won’t work for everyone, I set our outside lights at a level where our 5231’s can operate in color only. When someone is detected, the lights ramp up to 100% which can also be a deterrent to a criminal or a welcome to a visitor.
I would like to get my HomeSeer system setup where I could us alerts from BlueIris to trigger the exterior lights - Do you have any pointers or a good resource I could look at? The last I read - the BlueIris plugin for Homeseer has not been kept up and has basically been abandoned
 

RootOfEvil

n3wb
Joined
May 11, 2017
Messages
2
Reaction score
0
I would like to get my HomeSeer system setup where I could us alerts from BlueIris to trigger the exterior lights - Do you have any pointers or a good resource I could look at? The last I read - the BlueIris plugin for Homeseer has not been kept up and has basically been abandoned
Use MQTT for real-time events from Blue Iris. Homeseer can consume them through the MQTT plugin.
 
Joined
Oct 16, 2018
Messages
697
Reaction score
1,546
Location
USA
I would like to get my HomeSeer system setup where I could us alerts from BlueIris to trigger the exterior lights - Do you have any pointers or a good resource I could look at? The last I read - the BlueIris plugin for Homeseer has not been kept up and has basically been abandoned
The triggers above are using the BI plugin but I have been migrating my events to JSON calls from BI.

In BI, this is executed On Alert:
192.168.0.2/JSON?user=default&pass=pwd&request=runevent&id=2315

The first event below is event ID 2315.

1E3924D9-9AB5-4E37-BACA-57FC65F6D574.jpeg
 

eeeeesh

BIT Beta Team
Joined
Jan 5, 2017
Messages
290
Reaction score
449
The triggers above are using the BI plugin but I have been migrating my events to JSON calls from BI.

In BI, this is executed On Alert:
192.168.0.2/JSON?user=default&pass=pwd&request=runevent&id=2315

The first event below is event ID 2315.
Thanks - I just started playing around with the JSON commands the other day. Baby steps, I got it to the point where I could turn on one of my interior lights, but I will have to look at it further. I wasn't sure there was a better way
 

eeeeesh

BIT Beta Team
Joined
Jan 5, 2017
Messages
290
Reaction score
449
Use MQTT for real-time events from Blue Iris. Homeseer can consume them through the MQTT plugin.
I started looking at MQTT first, but it looks like you need some sort of broker/server like Mosquito? Can I ask you why you use MQTT instead of JSON?
 

kbgator

Young grasshopper
Joined
Mar 11, 2018
Messages
58
Reaction score
16
My solution for using AI for triggers..........is to use the AI tripwires in the 5442's then ONVIF to trigger BI. Works very well, day and night. ;)
Everyone having issue's with DS in BI, be SURE to tell Ken about it.
Me, I'm waiting on the sidelines for now. ;)
I have similar cameras and haven’t tried this. Is there a doc on how to set this up in the camera and then BI?
 

wittaj

Known around here
Joined
Apr 28, 2019
Messages
5,213
Reaction score
6,951
Location
USA
@kbgator - Not really a manual, but these are the steps:

So you need to set it up in two places. In the motion tab, select the camera's digital input or motion alarm.

Then go back to the setup screen where you key in the camera IP address and user and password and down in the lower left (or up a little depending on the version you are running), will be the checkbox for pull ONVIF triggers.

I ran a clone camera for awhile using BI motion to compare it to the ONVIF triggers to confirm I wasn't missing anything. Now for those cams I just use ONVIF triggers.

Having the camera do motion detection instead of BI does free up CPU as motion detection is one of the larger CPU drains.
 

kbgator

Young grasshopper
Joined
Mar 11, 2018
Messages
58
Reaction score
16
@kbgator - Not really a manual, but these are the steps:

So you need to set it up in two places. In the motion tab, select the camera's digital input or motion alarm.

Then go back to the setup screen where you key in the camera IP address and user and password and down in the lower left (or up a little depending on the version you are running), will be the checkbox for pull ONVIF triggers.

I ran a clone camera for awhile using BI motion to compare it to the ONVIF triggers to confirm I wasn't missing anything. Now for those cams I just use ONVIF triggers.

Having the camera do motion detection instead of BI does free up CPU as motion detection is one of the larger CPU drains.
Wow this is cool. Never used the AI in the Dahua camera until now.

1. I set it up in just one. During the daytime it is picking up way more accurate and detailed events, But during the night it is still picking up bugs. I'm not sure of the Dahua settings for that but guess I'll have to play with it. I don't want to lower the sensitivity and then miss some real motion alerts.

2. I used the IVS Intrusion setting instead of IVS Tripwire because I want to watch a whole area and not just a line being crossed. Do most people do Intrusion? or Tripwire? I feel like tripwire would miss certain areas
 

wittaj

Known around here
Joined
Apr 28, 2019
Messages
5,213
Reaction score
6,951
Location
USA
@kbgator - Many of us have found that the intrusion using appears and crosses works better than the tripwire just because sometimes something can get past the tripwire before the camera recognizes it as an object. I look at it as a failsafe LOL. Many people will throw a tripwire up right against the edge of the screen and for these to work the camera needs time to recognize the object and then classify it as does it meet your AI need or not.

Are you running the minimum size as 0,0? If not, change it to that.

It should not be picking up bugs unless you also have Motion Detection and/or Smart Motion Detection (SMD) checked and I think you do since you talk about sensitivity. There is no sensitivity settings under IVS and AI for human or vehicle.

For the AI in IVS to work, you also need to uncheck Motion Detection and uncheck SMD. Do not use those in conjunction with IVS or you will get bugs, etc. At least that is the experience of most. As always YMMV. In fact, one of my cameras doe not let you use both and will warn you one or the other.
 

shannondalebreaux

Young grasshopper
Joined
Jun 6, 2018
Messages
66
Reaction score
24
Location
louisana
Wow this is cool. Never used the AI in the Dahua camera until now.

1. I set it up in just one. During the daytime it is picking up way more accurate and detailed events, But during the night it is still picking up bugs. I'm not sure of the Dahua settings for that but guess I'll have to play with it. I don't want to lower the sensitivity and then miss some real motion alerts.

2. I used the IVS Intrusion setting instead of IVS Tripwire because I want to watch a whole area and not just a line being crossed. Do most people do Intrusion? or Tripwire? I feel like tripwire would miss certain areas
Which camera you trying out? just curious cuz soon I will be new to trying Dahua as well.
 
Top