Hello From Atlanta - Help on PC build

jblondin

n3wb
Reaction score
Good afternoon,

Time to retire the arlo setup. I have some old parts from a lenovo legion PC collecting dust. Its a B460 matx mobo without HDMI ports. I have a 10900 non K cpu that I could use, however the main concern I have, is will I be able to use the CPU to its full potential since I need to install a GPU to get video out? I was thinking of possibly trying to get another motherboard, but the LGA 1200 models are still around 100$...where I could get an older used quadro card for maybe 25$. Everything else I was going to learn as I go. I was going to get one camera....a WD purple drive, poe switch...and get started.

Any suggestions on how to proceed? Thanks

Jason

Rob2020

Known around here
Reaction score
:welcome:

I am not an expert but your MOBO and CPU have more than enough horsepower to run a solid system. RAM is cheap right now so it seems you could buy a used $25 GPU or find a decent to good new budget GPU for less than $75 - $100, case and PSU probably adds another $100. 16GB RAM should be more than enough.

Make sure you read the Cliff Notes located in the WIKI at the top of the page. Plan on more cameras and size your switch accordingly.

Starting slow and building is what I did, went from one Dahua (EmpireTech rebrand) and BI and now run six Dahua with several more to mount:D

I run a 4TB WD, wish it was 6GB or bigger. 16GB RAM is enough for my setup, RYZEN 2700 with no GPU in use, runs 100% on Blue Iris for the last 3 years.

jblondin

n3wb
Reaction score
My issue is that I don't think quick sync will work with my mobo as it doesn't support igpu. I don't think the bios will support it.

wittaj

IPCT Contributor
Reaction score
Quick Sync isn't needed anymore. That was only needed back before substreams were introduced. The substreams allowed other CPUs without QuickSync to be used. For kicks I disabled it and deleted the driver and my system ran fine LOL.