Hello! Looking to replace some Arlo cameras. Any suggestions?

SPK

n3wb
Reaction score
I'm new at this sort of thing. I want to replace the cruddy Arlo cameras I have, with some PoE cams I think.

Any suggestions for cameras? I'm looking to do just two cameras, maybe one with pan and tilt.

What else will I need? An NVR, a POE switch, cabling...?

wittaj

IPCT Contributor
Reaction score
What are you trying to accomplish? OVERVIEW to observe stuff, or IDENTIFY people?

More than likely, you will want to get more than 2 cams believe us....

Arlos and most consumer grade cameras are 2.8mm wide angle cameras that will let you see a lot, but not be able to identify a lot...

To identify someone with the 2.8mm lens that is popular, someone would have to be within 13 feet of the camera, but realistically within 10 feet after you dial it in to your settings.

1604638118196.png

My neighbor was bragging to me how he only needed his four 2.8mm fixed lens cams to see his entire property and the street and his whole backyard. His car was sitting in the driveway practically touching the garage door and his video quality was useless to ID the perp not even 10 feet away.

Here are my general distance recommendations, but switch out the Dahua 5442 series camera to the equivalent 2MP on the 1/2.8" sensor or equivalent Hikvision works as well.
  • 5442 fixed lens 2.8mm - anything within 10 feet of camera OR as an overview camera
  • 5442 ZE - varifocal - distances up to 40-50 feet (personally I wouldn't go past the 30 foot range but I like things closer)
  • 5442 Z4E - anything up to 80-100 feet (personally I wouldn't go past 60 feet but I like things closer)
  • 5241-Z12E - anything from 80 feet to almost 200 feet (personally I wouldn't go past 150 feet because I like things closer)
  • 5241-Z12E - for a license plate cam that you would angle up the street to get plates up to about 175 feet away, or up to 220 with additional IR.