Hikvision DS-7616NI-SP Firmware issue

kccustom

Young grasshopper
Joined
Nov 8, 2014
Messages
67
Reaction score
4
the newer firmwares allow you to dump the firmware file onto a flash drive and upgrade it directly on the NVR. Local, as in not via ethernet, serial, or otherwise. directing in the NVR's GUI.
So just put the digicap file on a jump drive and boot the nvr? will it let you upgrade without a login and password?
 

CoreyX64

Pulling my weight
Joined
Mar 20, 2015
Messages
365
Reaction score
133
No. You must have already serial-recovered to 3.1.7 to be able to upgrade locally. I took some screenshots back when I did this, I'll see if I can dig them up. It is not the type of NVR that can search for a firmware file on a USB drive prior to booting what's on-chip, which is exactly how you describe. I much prefer that method as it doesn't make you jump through as many hoops to recover. Unfortunately that's not the case with any Hikvision products that I've worked with.
 

kccustom

Young grasshopper
Joined
Nov 8, 2014
Messages
67
Reaction score
4
No. You must have already serial-recovered to 3.1.7 to be able to upgrade locally. I took some screenshots back when I did this, I'll see if I can dig them up. It is not the type of NVR that can search for a firmware file on a USB drive prior to booting what's on-chip, which is exactly how you describe. I much prefer that method as it doesn't make you jump through as many hoops to recover. Unfortunately that's not the case with any Hikvision products that I've worked with.
Looks like I have to learn how to do a serial recovery.
 

CoreyX64

Pulling my weight
Joined
Mar 20, 2015
Messages
365
Reaction score
133
Yes that's an absolute must, PuTTY plus a USB serial adapter (or if you have a real serial port on a desktop, that works too) will get you out of a jam. Here's what I did, not saying you can't do it another way, but this worked for me:

1. Power off NVR. Hook up all of your cables to their respective ports. Have PuTTY open on your computer listening to the proper COM port. Also have the TFTP Auto Update program running on your computer on your local subnet (NOT 192.0.0.128) and have the 3.1.7 digicap.mav file within the TFTP program folder. NVR and computer should be connected to the same network and subnet.
2. Power on the NVR. PuTTY should start to show activity. When prompted, press CTRL+U to stop U-Boot from starting the NVR firmware. At this point it should be asking for TFTP source and destination IPs. (must be part of your local subnet) Manually enter an IP for your NVR (e.g. 192.168.1.10) and hit enter, it will then ask for the TFTP server IP (enter in your computer's local IP), and from there it should start to transmit the firmware over ethernet to the NVR. At this point sit back and relax. the NVR should reboot (I think, or maybe you have to push a button, I can't remember).
3. Once rebooted, you should be prompted with a setup wizard. Follow the setup wizard to set up a new password for admin. At that point, connect flash drive with 3.3.4 to system and go into the maintenance menu on the NVR (not the web interface), and there should be a submenu called upgrade. From there, select the digicap file on the drive. Confirm the upgrade, and it should upgrade with no issues. I've done this 4 times so I know it works.

Hope this helps.
 

CoreyX64

Pulling my weight
Joined
Mar 20, 2015
Messages
365
Reaction score
133
To be clear, (seeing as you haven't done a serial recovery before, probably don't know this so I figured I would mention as food for thought), you're only using the serial port to access the console/terminal in order to halt the boot loader from initializing (U-Boot). The file transfer process of the firmware itself is still being done over the network.
 

kccustom

Young grasshopper
Joined
Nov 8, 2014
Messages
67
Reaction score
4
To be clear, (seeing as you haven't done a serial recovery before, probably don't know this so I figured I would mention as food for thought), you're only using the serial port to access the console/terminal in order to halt the boot loader from initializing (U-Boot). The file transfer process of the firmware itself is still being done over the network.
What port on the nvr are you using for serial recovery?
 

alastairstevenson

Staff member
Joined
Oct 28, 2014
Messages
11,768
Reaction score
3,798
Location
Scotland
There is a 4-pin socket on the mainboard that provides the serial console - unless your NVR has an RS-232 outlet on the back, most don't, some do.
 

CoreyX64

Pulling my weight
Joined
Mar 20, 2015
Messages
365
Reaction score
133
The 7700 series all are RS-232-level serial, the 7600s and smaller models are typically TTL. Assuming he has a 7700, a standard RS-232 adapter will work.

I have a 7600 series model that I need to recover, I have the TTL adapter, but no clue on the Pinout. Is it a small white connector onboard? You posted pics either on this thread or another about recovering but it was not clear as to what pins go where, and how to make it fit. I don't have the other half of the onboard connector to connect to it.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 

CoreyX64

Pulling my weight
Joined
Mar 20, 2015
Messages
365
Reaction score
133
@kccustom it would be the 9-pin Aqua-colored RS-232 port. No need to physically open the NVR up


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 
Last edited by a moderator:

CoreyX64

Pulling my weight
Joined
Mar 20, 2015
Messages
365
Reaction score
133
You'll need a USB serial adapter (with female gender changer most likely) to connect to it from any windows based computer (OS X is a joke and I haven't tried Linux)


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 

CoreyX64

Pulling my weight
Joined
Mar 20, 2015
Messages
365
Reaction score
133
UART...that's what I thought it was called. I couldn't find the pigtail of that, I googled and ebayed around but didn't seem to find it. Perhaps I wasn't looking in the right spot.

Thanks for that thread link. That detailed it perfectly. I was looking at a different picture


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 

Habib

n3wb
Joined
Oct 31, 2017
Messages
7
Reaction score
1
The NVR's MAC is registered with Static DHCP in the router. It pulls .10 every time. So in effect, is a static IP. However perhaps not as helpful for these kinds of diagnostics where it becomes DHCP reliant. Yes you are correct, 10.60.3.0/24 is the subnet used here at home.

10.60.3.10 is fully responsive, ping, web GUI, SADP, etc. as if its fully functional. I just have no way to login. When I first upgraded, yes, it did prompt me to enter a new password. However, there was no usernames in the user list to assign a new password to, so I could never get past this screen.

While it is a US-regioned NVR and I pulled the FW from the European site, the Web GUI took it gracefully. Besides, TFTP throws the same error when trying to restore the 3.1.5 US firmware. So that rules out language flags since it failed for US and non-US. I've done this with 2032 and 2132 cams many times before and it works great. It'll take both chinese and US FW via TFTP. never threw a fit. However this NVR is a different story. Won't accept anything.






SAME IS MY ISSUE . WHEN I POWER ON MY DVR THERE IS USERNAME NOT ENTERED
 
Top