Hikvision NVR 7604/7104 Telnet?

Carcus

Getting the hang of it
Reaction score
Hi All,

Does anyone know how to access the NVR's via Telnet with the newer firmware?

Using the following hardware and firmware

7604 - V3.4.62 build 160503
7104 - V3.0.18 build 151231

Thanks in advance.

alastairstevenson

Staff member
Reaction score
Does anyone know how to access the NVR's via Telnet with the newer firmware?
Hikvision have removed telnetd from Busybox in the 3.4.62 firmware, and added Dropbear for SSH.
But either way - you would only have the 'psh' shell with it's large but not hacking-useful command set.

Carcus

Getting the hang of it
Reaction score
What about for the 7104 looking to enable NATing so I can access the cameras on the internal PoE? Thanks

alastairstevenson

Staff member
Reaction score
I've no experience of the 7104, sorry.
Does it have the 'Virtual Host' option like the 76xx/78xx series?
If so, this implicitly enables the 'kernel IP forwarding' facility between the NVR LAN and PoE interfaces.
All you'd need after that would be to add a static router to your LAN gateway (presumably your router), something like
'For network <NVR_PoE_Interface> route via 'NVR_LAN_Interface_address>

By the way - I've not (yet) tried the apparent SSH access to 7604 using 3.4.62, the observation was just from looking at the firmware contents.
This is something I'll get round to, that playback timeline feature is worth having.

Carcus

Getting the hang of it
Reaction score
FYI the playback timeline also supports line and intrusion detection on that firmware. (have to play with it more to see how good it is)

I have the virtual host option on the 7604 and it works great. Looks more of a NAT/PAT translation rather than routing as its giving me the option to access the cameras on the same IP address as the NVR however with a different port. e.g. NVR 192.168.1.150 and cams http://192.168.1.150:65001.