Hikvision NVR: Attached Email Images Distorted/ Obscured

Fulcrum45

n3wb
Reaction score
Hi All,

Apologies off the top- this is my first post here and I'm rather new to the IP Camera world. Long story short I have a Hikvision NVR working with a few Hikvision IP Cameras and my email alerts are working fine. My only problem is the images attached come in distorted (See attached). Is this likely an issue with my mail service? Or is there a setting somewhere that I'm missing? I read somewhere that the sub-stream settings may have an effect on this but I haven't had any luck with that.

NVR: Hikvision DS 7608NI-E2/8P (firmware: v3.4.2 bld 160205)

IP Cam:Hikvision DS-2CD2132F-I (firmware: v5.4.0 bld 160530)

Any help would be greatly appreciated. I've Googled everywhere but it seems like the primary obstacle for most people is getting the emails in the first place :)

**EDIT** Here's the image I receive as an email attachment.

Attachments

Last edited:

Fastb

Known around here
Reaction score
Fulcrum45,
Welcome to the forum!
I wouldn't like that image either.
This is what I get:

Fulcrum45

n3wb
Reaction score
Thanks, Fastb. Perhaps I should have embedded that image into my post instead of attaching it. I have just edited my first post to display the image as well. As you can see it's not "distorted" exactly but certainly unusable. I'm just wondering if there is a setting I should look at or if it's just an issue with my mail server (MS Exchange). I appreciate everyone for their time.

zero-degrees

Known around here
Reaction score
Thanks, Fastb. Perhaps I should have embedded that image into my post instead of attaching it. I have just edited my first post to display the image as well. As you can see it's not "distorted" exactly but certainly unusable. I'm just wondering if there is a setting I should look at or if it's just an issue with my mail server (MS Exchange). I appreciate everyone for their time.