Hikvision NVR ds-7716-NI-sp/16- unexpected camera connection issues after 2nd hard drive install- some cameras functional- most not

Skingjack

n3wb
Reaction score
Hello,

NVR newbie here. The title describes the issue: the additional hard drive install went with no issues however upon reconnecting camera cables to the POE ports on the rear of the NVR and rebooting, some
cameras are able to be accessed however most are not. Having never dealt with an NVR before (I'm Blue iris), I'm at a loss as to why as the cables were plugged into the same ports as they
originally were prior to HD addition. Little confused why this connectivity might be happening. Below/attached is a picture of the camera connections when accessing the NVR config page via computer. Can someone confirm my thoughts at what I'm looking at.

Screen Shot 2022-01-03 at 17.47.52.png

Some basic questions:

Channel No. represents the ports on the back of the NVR along with the respective NVR assigned addresses (192.168.254.x). Are the IPs highlighted in blue the actual camera ip addresses? If so, how does one access the cameras individually via computer/web browser- they are not accessible over the network when trying to access via computer web browser. Obviously the firmware version/and models will be indicated when the cameras are online.

Another complication, I also note that via the HIK NVR camera setup menu, some of these camera connections are set up as manual while others are plug and play ( most plug and play); not sure why the discrepancy (though more than 1 individuals had set up the cameras in the past).

So the question- what is the easiest/quickest/most secure/best practices way to reset everything so that a NVR port will pick up a camera when it's cable is plugged in?

Back to the forums/videos for me; a lot more reading is ahead of me this evening to see if I can resolve on my own but some quick tips/pointers/guidance from others would be appreciated.

Thanks,

Jack

alastairstevenson