How do I add a wireless network card?

Jessie.slimer

BIT Beta Team
Joined
Aug 23, 2019
Messages
166
Reaction score
224
Location
Illinois
I'm currently running a dual NIC on my BI cpu, but would like to occasionally use a wifi camera in various spots around the house for non critical/not security related recording.

Is it as easy as installing a wireless network card on the cpu and pointing it to the 2nd (camera network) card as the gateway? Then I'm guessing I would put the wifi card IP into the wifi camera?

Still pretty new to networking. Thanks.
 

SouthernYankee

IPCT Contributor
Joined
Feb 15, 2018
Messages
3,343
Reaction score
2,201
Location
Houston Tx
It is simple. Add an access point to the switch that is used on the second, camera only NIC. I have used an ASUS RT-N12D1 router. It is about $30. Use a different channel and different SSID.

I currently do not use WIFI, but have used it in the past for testing.
 

Jessie.slimer

BIT Beta Team
Joined
Aug 23, 2019
Messages
166
Reaction score
224
Location
Illinois
Actually that is simple. And cheaper. I have an old TP Link access point laying around anyway.

I know wifi sucks. This will be a once in a while camera and will move room to room as needed.

Thanks for the help.
 

nbstl68

Getting comfortable
Joined
Dec 15, 2015
Messages
1,222
Reaction score
221
Hi, A couple of slightly related questions if you don't mind...
1) What is the use \ purpose of a 2nd NIC? Is it only to keep sec cameras on their own network while you use the computer to surf the net?
2) if they are on a 2nd nic with no access to the internet, does that mean there is no way to check them on the phone app or elsewhere (UI3) while away from the house?
 

Jessie.slimer

BIT Beta Team
Joined
Aug 23, 2019
Messages
166
Reaction score
224
Location
Illinois
Hi, A couple of slightly related questions if you don't mind...
1) What is the use \ purpose of a 2nd NIC? Is it only to keep sec cameras on their own network while you use the computer to surf the net?
2) if they are on a 2nd nic with no access to the internet, does that mean there is no way to check them on the phone app or elsewhere (UI3) while away from the house?
I decided to do 2nd NIC because it was easier to set up and keep my cameras from having internet access vs a VLAN like some other guys are using (takes more networking skills). I can still view camera footage from the app/phone when I am home by connecting to the same network that the blue iris computer is on, or by using a vpn to connect to the network if I'm not home. Basically, the blue iris computer has internet access but the 2nd NIC does not.

The only way to change internal camera settings with this setup is by using the blue iris computer directly, or remoting into it with software such as teamviewer, RSS, etc.
 

SouthernYankee

IPCT Contributor
Joined
Feb 15, 2018
Messages
3,343
Reaction score
2,201
Location
Houston Tx
The second nic isolates the cameras from the internet. The BI computer is on the first NIC also so that the BI computer is on the local home network that has access to the internet. The only access to the cameras is VIA the BI computer. There is no direct access to the cameras other than the BI computer if the network is set up correctly.

UI3 does not access the cameras it access the BI PC.
 
Top