How do I know if my setup is secure from outside intrusions? Aka hacking into camera?

phoenixone

Young grasshopper
Reaction score
Hi all,
I'm a bit new to IP cameras. I brought my system from Milkisbad back in April (awesome guy, awesome system :)).
I'm curious if I have my system setup securely.

7 IP Turrets plugged into POE ports built into NVR
NVR plugged into Router.
Ports 80, 8000 and 8554 forwarded as per NVR instructions.
Enable UPnP unchecked
Can't enable HTTPS for some reason
Enable Virtual Hosts checked
Enable Telnet unchecked.

Thanks!

milkisbad

Pulling my weight
Reaction score
Re: How do I know if my setup is secure from outside intrusions? Aka hacking into cam

Actually you might want to use some random ports since the default ports are public information.

and change password !

phoenixone

Young grasshopper
Reaction score
Re: How do I know if my setup is secure from outside intrusions? Aka hacking into cam

Actually you might want to use some random ports since the default ports are public information.

and change password !
Thanks for helping out! :)
I changed the PW since I got the system. I should of mentioned that. :encouragement:
Should I also change the PW of the cameras as well?

Regarding Ports:
Should I change all the ports?
What random ports should I use?
Can I put any port # or are there certain port #'s that can be used?

Thanks!

alastairstevenson

Staff member
Reaction score

Ports 80, 8000 and 8554 forwarded as per NVR instructions.
If you expose your NVR to the internet there is always a risk that an unwanted intrusion can occur.
By simply forwarding those ports - you are allowing any internet-connected device in the entire world to directly access your NVR.
Whether anyone can get in depends on their level of detailed knowledge of the NVR internals, and how many unfixed vulnerabilities it has that can be exploited.

You didn't mention what you did with all the user accounts and passwords.