how do I record a fixed amount of time everyday?

piconut

BIT Beta Team
Reaction score
I'm new to Blue Iris and I've been trying to learn how to use it with the help of the members in this forum. I have a weather camera that I want to set so that it captures the sunset each night. Ideally, I would have some way of setting up a schedule that would "know" the daily changing sunset time for my location and then start recording 10 minutes before the sunset until 10 minutes after the sunset. I've tried playing around with profiles and schedules but nothing that I've tried has worked. If there isn't a way to have BI adjust for the changing sunset time, then at least I could set the camera up to record from 7:30 PM to 8:30 PM each night but I haven't even been able to get that to work properly. I do not have motion recording enabled for this camera.

Can someone please point me in the right direction? Thanks in advance!

fenderman

Staff member
Reaction score
I'm new to Blue Iris and I've been trying to learn how to use it with the help of the members in this forum. I have a weather camera that I want to set so that it captures the sunset each night. Ideally, I would have some way of setting up a schedule that would "know" the daily changing sunset time for my location and then start recording 10 minutes before the sunset until 10 minutes after the sunset. I've tried playing around with profiles and schedules but nothing that I've tried has worked. If there isn't a way to have BI adjust for the changing sunset time, then at least I could set the camera up to record from 7:30 PM to 8:30 PM each night but I haven't even been able to get that to work properly. I do not have motion recording enabled for this camera.

Can someone please point me in the right direction? Thanks in advance!
Blue iris can do exactly what you need...see this thread first http://www.ipcamtalk.com/showthread.php?818-confused-on-schedule-profile&highlight=sunset
Then post any questions you have.